We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing day at the beach”

Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay)
Ranked #6 of 133 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing day at the beach”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This beach is a beautiful white sand beach and is easy to get to. When we went, it wasn't too busy at all. We saw some spinner dolphins here in the morning doing flips and a few people even swam out to swim with them which was really neat. To the left of the beach was also some decent snorkeling. The waves here are nice and calm so there were a lot of families, but overall, this was a great place to visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyJ1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    787
    221
    26
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Flawless white sand beach”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We almost overlooked this beach because it is not advertised/talked about as much as some of the other beaches in travel sites. But this beach turned out to be a pleasant surprise, though we reached there just a few minutes before sunset. There was a little bit of a rocky descent to this pristine gem. We walked around and sat and enjoyed the view for sometime. Fun times!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CalGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful white sands- parking close by”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beach was stunning and the ocean very calm for swimming. I left by noon because the place got crowded quickly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This beach is one of my favorite beaches on the Big Island! Gorgeous white sand, crystal clear blue waters, and sea creatures in the ocean! The day that I went it was pretty windy, so I'd definitely recommend others bring a towel or some sunglasses to protect their eyes from sand. I definitely enjoyed the view of the ocean and snorkeling on the bay :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenasi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Turquoise Waters and White Sand - Amazing!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

When we walked up the pathway to the beach my mouth dropped to my feet. Ive never seen a beach so beautiful. The water was warm and inviting, the sand was clean and super soft white. You could see forever in that water. Wading in the water and looking off to the horizon all you see is colors of blues and purples, it was like being in Heaven!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Henboogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay) also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Puako, Kohala Coast
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing