We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Popular Beach”

Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay)
Ranked #6 of 132 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Zephyr Cove, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Popular Beach”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Easy access and frequented by many, the white sand is amazing. Decent place for boogie boards and snorkeling is good(saw one turtle). Personally more variety of fish at beach 69. Lots of coral avail to the north for use of graffiti on volcanic rock.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NevadaDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    779
    220
    26
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely little beach”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Beautiful beach with soft white sand. This one is really worth a visit. No shade though, so pack on the sunscreen and/or bring an umbrella

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Missmercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, swam with 6 wild dolphins!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This beach itself is really pretty. We went on a monday and it was slightly crowded. From what I could tell, a lot of locals visit this beach.The sand is soft & white and the ocean is a beautiful turquoise. When we arrived at the beach, there were 6 dolphins swimming off in the distance, not <too> far from the beach (maybe 3 football fields). We swam to them and got to swim by them for quite some time. Such a great experience! Worth the stop!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank sugarsprinkle02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, UT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Probably our favorite beach on big island”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was probably our favorite beach on the big island, it's just as beautiful as Hapuna, just smaller, and not much shade. But the parking is free (it opens at 9 btw) and the water might actually be a little clearer than Hapuna. We actually lucked out and there happened to be a pod of 6 dolphins swimming by about 400 ft. from the shore, so we swam out there and swam with the wild dolphins for about 10 min. AWESOME! Normally we wouldn't swim that far out by ourselves, but you can easily see 100 ft. in all directions and there was nothing but sand at the bottom, so you could see if there was any danger coming from far away. There are no lifeguards in case that is a big deal to you. There are nice facilities though. Beautiful white powdery sand. Definitely recommend visiting this beach if you only hit up a few on the Kona side.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our second fave beach ever”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is our go-to beach for sunning and absolutely beautiful, picture-perfect white sand and turquoise water. This is a "movie" beach to me, just perfect. Only issue here is no shade at all, so if you are a bit pale like myself, make sure to lather on the sunscreen! Easy parking, easy access, showers, close to Kona. Only beach that beats it to us is 69 beach.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MickiChicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay) also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Puako, Kohala Coast
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Manini'owali Beach (Kua Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing