We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star at 3 star prices, snorkeler's dream location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beach Villas at Kahalu'u
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“5 star at 3 star prices, snorkeler's dream location”
Reviewed November 9, 2008

Thank you tripadvior. I don't know how I'd find this ideal place otherwise. We've been to the island 5 times and this is my favorite place to stay for a non-resort property. I'll definitely be coming back. Located across the street from famed Kahaluu Beach Park, a snorkel paradise with turtles and fish galore. It's so nice to walk across the street and jump into the water without having to find parking and get our car all sandy/wet. If you have kids, they'll love it here.

The units are owned by different owners/managers who advertise on vbro and alohacondos to name a few. We booked through alohacondos and saved 30% dealing with Chuck. Great service, very friendly and profession he is. The units are numbered by their location so 1-201 means building 1 , floor 2, unit 1. Buidling 1 fronts the beach with oceanviews. We found every positive thing that other reviewers have said to be true. Peaceful, relaxing, perfect for families and groups. Not at all perfect for those wanting a mega resort with glitz like the those at Waikoloa. You get hotel amenities with the added convenience of a full kitchen. As for the noise, I wouldn't say the units are noisy, but the motocycles that drive by are. We couldn't really hear cars but boy, when a 2 wheeler past by, we took notice. That's the only negative to me about this place.

  • Liked — The cleanliness, the location across from prime snorkeling
  • Disliked — motocycles, stairs
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank suraimcfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    26
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2008

Probably just adding more of the same and agreeing with previous reviewers, a great stay at this well located condo. Unit 1-PH3 is, as the name implies, in the first block near the road, so a sea view , and PH3 is one of the Penthouse Units, eg top floor. Not much from the road, occasionally you'd hear a car, but the area was pretty quiet at night, and it was nice to be able to see the sea. It was also only about 45 minutes from the airport.

1-PH3 is an immaculate 3 bedroom unit, which we rented through Abbey Vacations, and they were very friendly and efficient to deal with as well, which always helps when renting an apartment owned by a person rather than a company.
The beach nearby is incredible for snorkelling, I was taking pictures underwater and one problem was that often the fish were too close to get in focus ! Plenty of turtles, some days in only a few inches of water at the shoreline, and its nice to go to a beach where you can walk rather than drive.
A couple of minutes away by car is a shopping centre with supermarket, some fast food restaurants, cinema and bank. 10-15 minutes slow drive (the road speed limits go as low as 15mph) is the 'main drag' with lots of restaurants and shops, but nice to be away from that. There are also some nice sandy beaches a few minutes drive away.
The only think wrong with it is that I am not there right now.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank joeintheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam
Level Contributor
302 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2008

Just returned from two outstanding weeks in Kona. The accomodation at Beach Villas in Kahaluu was nothing short of a solid " 10 " . The location outstanding, close to the town of Kona, close to a terrific shopping centre. Surrounded by local outdoor markets. All within a max of 10 minutes from each.

The Beach at Kahaluu was terrific. Each day we ventured to watch the turtles frolic in the surf, and the snorkelling was even more outstanding.

Activities abound on the Big Island, with the location of this unit, you could access the main highway without any problems at all, and either go south to Volcano National Park, or go North to the Waikaloa Golf and Shopping community, and if you're even more adventuresome, a journey across the island.

We were taken back by the facilities at the Beach Villas. The place was better than new, great comfortable king size bed, wonderful new appliances with loads of accessories if you ventured to do your own cooking. The view from the lanai was breathtaking, and it was hard to tear yourself away from watching the ocean waves lap up on the shore directly across from your condo.

Well done,, We will definitely be back.

  • Liked — Everything was brand new
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about, it was superb
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Goldwingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern KY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2008

We do alot of traveling and I have to say this is one of the best places we have ever stayed. Not only was the place well-maintained and very clean, Abbey Vacation Rentals is very friendly and caring. I flew over all alone from LA and my family did not get a flight for 2 days. I had never been on the Big Island and was scared to death. I called Abbey Rentals and they were so helpful in getting me calmed down and worked with me even thru the rental car process. I did arrive at the condo and the very next day, they called to check on me to make sure I made it safely. If it wasn't for them, I may have lost my mind. :) This is a wonderful place to stay and we do plan on staying there in the future. Thank You Abbey Rentals and to The Beach VIllas for making this trip great. Great location and beautiful sunsets.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not close to shopping
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank betterlifeindeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Unit 1-201 is exactly what it claims to be. It is a very modern (built in 2005-2006 from what I understand) condo. The owners obviously care about the product they put on the market. It is DIRECTLY across from Turtle Beach which offers great snorkeling, swimming, and surfing (I suggest Surfer Bear, [--] for lessons). The condo is well appointed for couples and small families. There is a set of snorkeling gear, beach chairs, child beach toys, great AC equipment, etc. It is perfectly located outside of the busy section of Alii Drive and is very easy to get to all destinations. If I ever make it back I will use this condo again! Fred

  • Liked — Great location and price
  • Disliked — Loved it all!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank EMS1544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2008

A beautiful condo by Keahou Bay. Far enough out of town to be away from the crowds but a quick drive in for shopping and dining.

The condo was clean and bright and tastefully decorated. Clean with a nice view of the beach across Ali'i Drive.

Internet access and free local phone.. also a small washer and dryer tucked away was quite handy for laundry and towels after scuba diving.

Really nice and highly recommended.

  • Liked — Cleaniness and space
  • Disliked — No restaurants in walking distance
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hallatauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2008

These may be the best condos in Kona. We stayed in unit 2-302. Very moden (just built in 2007), comfortable and convenient. We booked this through Aloha Condos with no problems or surprises. The pictures on the website tell the true story. Screens on the lanai doors to keep the bugs out and some hooks/bars in the bathrooms to hang wet towels, swimsuits, etc are our only complaints - very minor considering all the positives. We lacked for nothing. We especially enjoyed hooking up our Ipods to the Bose radio and having free wireless internet access. The location is great, right across Kahalu'u beach (although the reef is dying and is overrated as a snorkeling beach). Less than five minutes to grocery shopping, movie theaters, drugstore, restaurants, bank and post office. Kailua town is only a ten minute scenic drive away. Unless you wanted to stay at a resort, I can't imagine staying anywhere else. Some reviews complain about the street noise, but I am a light sleeper and never noticed the noise with the windows closed at night. It was near 90 degrees some days and we stayed very comfortable with the windows open during the day and closed at night. Never used the AC. Loved the pool. It was not very crowded when we were there (never saw more than five cars in the parking lot) and we almost always had the pool to ourselves. Would not hesitate to recommend these condos and would definitly consider them again when we return to Kona.

  • Liked — Modern
  • Disliked — Lack of places to hang wet towels and swimsuits
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank AZlovesHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
4.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.6 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
17.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Villas at Kahalu'u? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Villas at Kahalu'u

Property: The Beach Villas at Kahalu'u
Address: 78-6721 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2453
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Villas represent the first new beach front condo constructed on Alii Drive in the last 20 years. These villas are large, luxurious, designer decorated and have all the amenities you desire - infinity pool, spa, gas barbecue, central air conditioning, plasma TV, Bose surround sound, and free long distance telephone service to name a few. If you are looking for access to the beach with all the modern conveniences of home, look no further. You have found the ultimate vacation destination!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Beach Villas at Kahalu'u reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Villas At Kahalu`u Hotel Kailua-Kona
The Beach Villas At Kahalu'u Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing