We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best.”
Review of Pacific Rim Divers

Pacific Rim Divers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We here at Pacific Rim Divers enjoy taking young and old, beginner or experienced , adventurous fun loving divers and those who snorkel on an amazing trip into the fabulous underwater world here in the Kona area.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Still the best.”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

As I said in my prior review they do things the way you would want if it was your business. Personal service with a genuine smile and the ability to always find interesting creatures and structures. From sharks to the tiniest manta shrimp there is always something to see and these dive leaders find them. Patrice and Walt and Dave make you feel right at home and let you work the dives to your taste. I appreciate the small number of divers (max 6) as this keeps the group small and the dynamic working for everyone.
The fact they get so many repeat customers speaks for itself. There is competition here and they outshine all others. I will always look forward to diving with them on my future visits.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mrjpav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Choice For Our First Open Water Dive”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I and our two teenage kids (16 year old son and 14 year old daughter) just got our open water dive certifications last month. I called ahead from home to make a reservation for a three day package for all four of us with two dives per day. Both Walt and Patrice were very helpful on the phone. When we arrived I told Patrice that we were thinking about changing the last day to a Manta dive. Unfortunately Pacific Rim doesn't do a Manta Dive. It was no problem canceling the last day and she was even helpful suggesting other dive companies that we should check with. When we arrived at the marina we (especially the kids) were happy to find that all of the gear was already set up. They only take 6 people out at a time which is nice. We saw most of the other boats out there, and while they looked nice they all had between 10 and 20 divers on them. Having fewer people was especially nice since we are inexperienced divers. Before each dive they did a nice briefing of the area and showed pictures of the fish that we would see. Over two days we dove at four different locations. The visibility was great (about 80'). The first day we dove with Patrice twice. Then with Walt and David on the second day. There was no rush and they were good about pointing out interesting fish and other things. Between dives they answered questions and gave out brownies water and power bars. After the first day they let us keep our fins, masks, snorkels and booties on the boat so we didn't have to schlep wet gear around in the car. After the second day, they washed it all off for us. Overall I would highly recommend PRD.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew_and_Kates_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Calm Diving”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

On our last trip to Kona we happened to try Pacific Rim Divers. We had a great time. They don't have a shop so you meet at the marina. Patrice meets you there with any equipment you might need and takes care of the paperwork. Then off in a very well designed dive boat with a maximum of 6 divers. When you get to the site she gives a very thorough dive briefing. She goes very slow and shows you amazing things you might have missed if diving quickly. Up on the surface for an hour with snacks and drinks then down for another amazing dive. If you are in to small group diving then this is for you.

Mike

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank saraangls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The Crew is As good as the brownies, if not better!!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We've just spend three action packed days with Patrice's dive operation. We spent three days in Patrice's company, two days with Walt and one day with Dave. All three staff members paid incredible attention to the details.

What separates these fabulous three from the average dive operator is their willingness to impart whatever knowledge they can share with you that will make you a better diver. I personally gained invaluable insight into managing my breathing and buoyancy more effectively. Their knowledge of marine life and environments is incredible. These folks are genuine and much of their business is patronized by regulars. Their clients seem to have developed real friendships with them and are not just paying customers.

Divers meet at the harbor at 7:30 and leave between 7:45 and 8:00 am. We return after 2 dives close to 1:00 pm. Snacks are served after each dive. Water is readily available at all times. The boat is clean and a good size for 6 divers and 2 staff. A warm shower is available which I took advantage of to rinse my face and hair.

Thank you so much for the excellent, safe experience. We look forward to diving with you again!

Helpful?
1 Thank narcisse07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Pacific Rim Rocks!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My sons and I did eight dives with Pacific Rim Divers and couldn't have been happier! Patrice, Walt, and Carlos went out of their way to get us safely to the best sites despite a big south swell. On dives, they pointed out the best of everything, including the things we absolutely would have missed otherwise. Great dive profiles with plenty of bottom time, awesome snacks (ask Carlos about the pretzel/brownie sandwich!), and Patrice even hassled my kids so I didn't have to bother. Way cool! There is no better dive operation out there! They even reccomended the restaurant that gave us our best meal on the island

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Rim Divers also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Pacific Rim Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing