We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting-Complete information on Seahorses”

Ocean Rider Seahorse Farm
Ranked #7 of 129 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bridgeport ct
Level Contributor
163 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very interesting-Complete information on Seahorses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The tour guide was excellent - we got to see lots of seahorses from infancy to adulthood-This facility has helped to saved the seahorses from extinction--However the admission is high-$40 for adults

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocat1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    174
    50
    16
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well worth the time and money!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

My daughter (11yrs old) and I just returned from Kona and a visit to the Seahorse farm. What an amazing experience!!! The staff were so knowledgeable and friendly. The tour was engaging and interactive for both young and old. The highlight, of course, was being able to "hold" a seahorse at the end of the tour. Although it was a bit expensive ($40 a person, even children 11 and older!), it really was worth the money (hint - if you buy online in advance, you can save a few dollars)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Who knew?!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was a wonderful little spur of the moment excursion for our family while staying on the Kona Coast. We learned more than we ever thought we'd know about seahorses, we even got to hold them in our hands! The tour is short, about 45 minutes, but the biologists on staff are very informative and the whole concept is truly amazing. This is a great tour for children of all ages, even little ones will enjoy seeing all the seahorses. Don't bother putting on sunscreen on your arms because you have to wash your hands and arms in a big disinfectant tub before you start the tour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nealfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Surprising Highlight of the Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

The Seahorse Farm is a unique, fascinating experience, with a tour led by young dedicated marine biologists who engage the young and old alike! By the time it is over, seahorses become your favorite new creature and you have a clear understanding of the important work of this facility. Just watching how seahorses engage with one other and hearing about how they have adapted to this new environment was worth every penny. The cost is easily justified once you hear about the work that is being done. Don't except glitz and glitter - this is a real laboratory.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sea7breeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

We hadn't heard of this place before arriving on the island, and only saw a small note about it in one of the tourist guides handed out at a local mall. I'm so glad I noticed it! This place is not to be missed. Our tour guide, Kim, is not just a guide -- she's a marine biologist who is clearly passionate about what she does. She explained how they breed raise the seahorses, guided us through the hatcheries, and provided lots of details about why they're endangered and what the farm is doing to solve that problem -- much of it has to do with the pet/aquarium trade. The farm is raising seahorses in family groups, so that when they're sent to aquariums they don't die of loneliness (seahorses mate for life, so wild caught seahorses last about a week in captivity). They're also trying to breed sea dragons, so we couldn't see that part of the hatchery. I wish them much success in that endeavor.

At the end of the tour, we got to put our hands in one of the pools with seahorses. What a thrill to have a seahorse wrap its tail around your finger at the end of the tour!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank marisa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Rider Seahorse Farm also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ocean Rider Seahorse Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing