We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Luau!”

Royal Kona Resort Luau
Book In Advance
More Info
$204.68*
and up
Kona Submarine Adventure and Royal Kona Resort Luau
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
saskatoon, saskatchewan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Luau!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Right on the ocean with beautiful views. We started off with some delicious mai tais (many other drink options as well but the mai tais were awesome). There was a great band playing music and some of the hula dancers interacting with the kids at the back.
Delicious meal with many options (pork cooked in a earth oven (imu), chicken, beef, fish, many salads and side dishes). Great dancing and entertainment. Definitely worthwhile to do while in Kona

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank specialk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    341
    158
    33
    29
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sundance Wyoming
Level Contributor
80 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“If you haven't been to a Luau, you should go.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

$85. each seemed a little steep to us. The food was just so so. They had told us there was no reserved seating so we get there early and stand in line for 30 minutes. When we get in ...you got it! all the front tables had reserved signs on them. There were two lines to get in, one line had a lot of people with reserved tickets , the other line was for people buying tickets at the door. You may have guessed it....yes people buying tickets at the door were getting in before us and sitting in the better seats. It was confusing on which tables were suppose to go eat...there was a man assigned to tell them when to go but it appeared as though a lot of people just got up and went whenever. GOOD NEWS the dancers both male and female were really good, the music put you in the mood and the sun set was beautiful and yes they give you free drinks. Everyone should go to at least one luau.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Pretty much a standard luau. Lots of good food. Free Bar. Mai Tai's were very weak. Nice setting and good entertainment.
They charge $3.00 for parking on the grounds. Go a little bit early as parking is very tight.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KenBlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“enjoyable show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was our first luau and it was very enjoyable, good dancers who were very friendly and approachable. The food was good had enough to drink (in the price) , got a lot of photos with the dancers. Met some nice people on our table, in all a good night.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank springer1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good Show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

These folks put on a good show, but it probably seemed better to me since we sat close to the stage. Go through the activities director at your resort if possible. By doing so we got special seating at the luau. Also, arrive early as that will get you better seating . The tables are lined up perpendicular to the stage. The first row of tables is the "reserved" seating and those that come first with "reserved" seating can choose the seats closed to the stage among those tables. Also, we walked to the hotel, but parking is only $3. Restrooms are inside the hotel which make for a little bit of a walk. The food was very good. Each adult can get two drinks at the bar at a time and can go as often as they want.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DoninVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Kona Resort Luau also viewed

 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Royal Kona Resort Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing