We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening! Good Food!”
Review of Island Breeze Luau

Island Breeze Luau
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.96*
and up
Island Breeze Luau on the Big Island
More Info
$204.68*
and up
Kona Submarine Adventure and Island Breeze Luau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted the Best of West Hawaii since 2000 , the Island Breeze Lu'au and is located on the shores of Kamakahonu Bay and the historic grounds of the Courtyard Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. An evening filled with delicious food and authentic Island entertainment. Highlights include the re-enactment of the arrival of Kamehameha I aboard an outrigger canoe, the unearthing of the imu (underground oven), preliminary arts and crafts where you have a chance to meet the performers, a 22-dish buffet, an open bar and the finale of the Siva Afi - spectacular Samoan Fireknife dance.
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great evening! Good Food!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

My two teenage daughter, my 73-year-old mom, and my husband and I went to the Luau located in the Hyatt, even though our hotel (Royal Kona) hosted one. It was a fun evening. We did pay extra to enter the luau first and have access to the buffet also. I think it is worth it because you have a great seating assigned and you get to go to the buffet first. The luau is well organized It starts by having visitors being able to experience how to dance, how to handle balls with rope, how to create a fishing pole with palm leaves, etc. One interesting part is when they take out the kahlua pork. The host really makes great effort to engage in the spirit of the evening. Then to finalize , watching the show is fun and interesting, the costumes are amazing, the music is beautiful!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    130
    69
    23
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great to experience!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was a last minute thing we decided to do and very happy we experienced it. Nice night watching the ceremony and the entertainment. Great show was put on and the buffet was great too!! It was worth purchasing the VIP tickets so you get to sit closer to the stage which was much better and we got to eat first too!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for the whole family!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Fun activities for the family before it starts. Because of the venue, we are honored by the royal family. The food Is top notch! Wish I had a bigger tummy. The show itself is wonderful! Our narrator gave us the history of all dances. So mesmerizing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helendale, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent show”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Paid the extra money to have a seat up close and be in line first. If you don't mind standing in line then it probably wasn't necessary. They moved the people through the food lines very quickly and every seat in the house was a good one. Food was ok, the pork and beef were excellent, but the fish was not good at all. Not much selection on food. The show was fabulous though! Dancers were great, good humor and excellent fire show!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank crowelldesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingersoll, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cancelled”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed at the king Kamehameha hotel so we could just walk to the event. Was told be the lady at the desk if it rained it would be just moved indoors. Asked specifically about if the hurricane Estelle was coming and I quote "rest assure that it would not be cancelled" and they had an indoor room to hold the event. 10 am of the event we received an email stating it was cancelled do to the storm. Went and ask the desk at the hotel again and she said it was the Civil Defence. So disappointed on how the whole thing was handle, explained, communicated and no one willing to accommodated another luau or event for a replacement. This is not what the aloha spirit means.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Btorti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
konakohala, Manager at Island Breeze Luau, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Aloha, on behalf of Island Breeze we want to extend our sincere apologies for your disappointment with the cancellation of the lu'au on August 7th. Unfortunately during the night of the 6th, the category 2 hurricane changed direction and was headed across the island directly for Kailua-Kona. Because of this change, both Civil Defense and the Governor requested that non-essential vehicles stay off all the roads. Other businesses located near the Courtyard Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel were all closed and windows boarded up. Due to the risk involved for both our lu'au guests and our performers, we made the decision to take the advice of Civil Defense and cancel the luau that evening. Other activities and lu'aus on our island made that same decision and so there weren't other options for you that evening. 'I apologize for any misunderstanding and hope the next time you are in Hawai'i, we will have the opportunity to host you at the Island Breeze Lu'au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Breeze Luau also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Island Breeze Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing