We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful night!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Breeze Luau

Island Breeze Luau
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.96*
and up
Island Breeze Luau on the Big Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted the Best of West Hawaii since 2000 , the Island Breeze Lu'au and is located on the shores of Kamakahonu Bay and the historic grounds of the Courtyard Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. An evening filled with delicious food and authentic Island entertainment. Highlights include the re-enactment of the arrival of Kamehameha I aboard an outrigger canoe, the unearthing of the imu (underground oven), preliminary arts and crafts where you have a chance to meet the performers, a 22-dish buffet, an open bar and the finale of the Siva Afi - spectacular Samoan Fireknife dance.
Livingston Manor, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We went to the luau for our friends' 25th anniversary, and it was spectacular. The food was exceptional, the setting was beautiful, and the show was very authentic. Would attend again if I'm ever fortunate enough to return! I'd recommend it to anyone visiting the Big Island!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    124
    65
    23
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anna, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and show!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

This luau was everything we hoped it would be.....from the show to the food to the open bar....everything met our expectations! We read many helpful reviews before attending this luau so we knew what to expect. When I called to make the reservations the lady told me to get there at 4:30 and I'm so glad she did! There was already a line to check in. They will offer to take your picture when you first enter, but there is a fee. They also have lei's for sale when you enter. We were directed where to sit, but we could see the performance very well. The MC was awesome and did a fantastic job of entertaining the audience. He was incredibly informative and let us know exactly what each dance stood for. We were engaged the entire time. The performers were outstanding! We were so impressed!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful show and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

The Luau was enjoyable and presentation very professional. The MC was funny and interacted well with audience. The dancers were well trained. It was located at the beach area for the hotel. The food was very good, especially the fresh cooked pork. They offer an open bar and the Mai Tai is a specialty. The Luau starts at 5 and entrance is at 4:30. The line starts at about 4. The tables are perpendicular to the stage, and we were told where to sit. So it really is just chance on where you are located, but most all of the seats are good viewing. They offer photos and Lai's for a fee as you register. I'm glad I used this review and chose this Luau, it was worth the charge.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We have attended this Luau many times and it is always such a wonderful evening. We came tonight with family visiting from the mainland and they were very impressed. It is well organized and all the Island Breeze members are so kind and eager to share some culture with those in attendance. The food is very good and the show is spectacular. The dancers and musicians really seem to enjoy what they are doing and that translates to a fun time for all.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Fun, fun, fun! Best food we had on the island! The show was a real treat, and we enjoyed the calm atmosphere. Really happy we got switched to this luau since the one at our hotel was cancelled.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meredith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Breeze Luau also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Island Breeze Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing