We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The ONLY Luau you need to go to!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Island Breeze Luau

Island Breeze Luau
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.96*
and up
Island Breeze Luau on the Big Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted the Best of West Hawaii since 2000 , the Island Breeze Lu'au and is located on the shores of Kamakahonu Bay and the historic grounds of the Courtyard Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. An evening filled with delicious food and authentic Island entertainment. Highlights include the re-enactment of the arrival of Kamehameha I aboard an outrigger canoe, the unearthing of the imu (underground oven), preliminary arts and crafts where you have a chance to meet the performers, a 22-dish buffet, an open bar and the finale of the Siva Afi - spectacular Samoan Fireknife dance.
Ulsan, South Korea
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The ONLY Luau you need to go to!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was one of our big expenses in Kailua Kona and it was worth every single cent! When you call to make reservations ask to be updated to the better seating to you're up by the stage. You won't pay that extra $15 until you check at the hotel desk. The show is amazing...who doesn't like fire dancers and beautiful women!?! The food is good and the history of the Hawai'ian people was a pleasant addition to our evening. Leis can be purchased on the way in but the give out small shell leis for free. Everything is included in the price including an open bar. Skip the other luaus...stay in the Marriott and do this one. Absolutely spectacular!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ach27205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    125
    66
    23
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Some great performances, good food, but pushy folks out to nickle and dime you”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This luau takes place at the King Kamehameha Hotel at one end of Alii Drive. The retail price for the luau is $83/ adult, but we sat through an Open House at our resort and received a discounted price of $51/ adult. Could I say it was worth it? Certainly with the discounted price, and perhaps even with the undiscounted price, especially if this is the first time you are attending a luau.

How it works: For us, since we booked through our hotel concierge, we paid him and in return, got a voucher for the two of us for the luau. We were not told by parking options very well by our concierge and so we had to spend quite a bit of time in the vicinity of the hotel trying to figure out the parking situation. Later on it turned out that we could have parked at the hotel for a discounted rate of only $5 - something we would surely have done had we known. Coming back to the luau itself, we showed up a little before 5 p.m. at the hotel desk which prominently says "Luau Check-In." We exchanged our voucher for 2 printed tickets and then made our way to the luau area by the beach. We had to wait for ~ 15 minutes in a line before we were ushered into the area where the luau would be held. As we were standing, a bouncer (not really a bouncer but that's what he looked like and that's what his attitude was) loudly announced that we would be greeted with a shell lei and if we wanted a flower lei, we would have to pay $6. As we were walking in, he reminded the guys to buy one for their missus for $6 without a second thought and then for the ladies, he wanted them to buy a necklace made of a traditional nut for $5. We skipped buying either. Then as we were walking in we had our pictures taken by the beach with the shell leis. Later on as we were having dinner, somebody walked by our tables, showed us our pictures and told us that we could buy that picture for $20. We liked the print and the logo at the very bottom right which said "Island Luau" and ponied up the $20. If you are getting the sense that they were trying to take the last dollar left in your wallet, then you wouldn be quite on the mark.

Now coming to the luau itself: Before the buffet was opened up, there were some traditional activities that you could choose to participate in. One dancer was teaching the hula dance and my wife participated in and enjoyed it immensely. She was nice and friendly. In addition, there were two other folks - one of whom was teaching how to make a fish from a coconut frond and another who was showing how to play around with something that resembled an elongated weights. The person who was using the coconut fronds had run out of it by the time we got there even though he had just started the activity and that was a bummer.

Now food - good but not great. Choices are somewhat limited and the average dinner buffet at a cheap Chinese restaurant will probably offer you more choices than this place does. There is exactly one chicken dish (Pulehu Chicken - basically baked chicken); exactly one pork dish (Kalua Pig); exactly one beef dish (Kona Broil) and exactly one seafood dish (Catch of the day). It tastes pretty good but is not exceptional. The bar is free and that alone is worth a mention. There are mai-tais, the traditional Hawaiian cocktail drink and some limited choices for remaining beverages - 1 choice for white wine, possibly only 1 choice for red wine, rum & coke, etc. The bar stayed open until 7:30 as was written and that was nice.

Lastly, the post dinner performances - those were good and what make it worth a visit. The emcee for the evening was a nice Hawaiian gentleman and he truly seemed to enjoy his job. He had performers coming one after the other showing us dances and performances from all across the Polynesian Islands. There was a performance with a flaming spear that is particularly notable. It is the finale event for the evening. The show ends around 8 to 8:15 p.m.

All in all, you could do worse than attending this luau. You are in Hawaii for spending money after all and getting to see something else outside of what you normally encounter. If that is the case, you could certainly go for this luau.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank desimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great First Luau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We attended this luau last night (it was our first luau), right before we headed back to the mainland and it was so enjoyable, even if we did get rained on a little bit. From the moment we got there we had a great time. They had someone there to entertain us before the gates opened. We chose the upgraded seats which were worth the $15. We got to get our drinks first, eat first and see everything up close (even though I don't think even the back seats would have had that much trouble seeing). All the staff was very friendly and we enjoyed all the activities they had before dinner. The food at dinner was good and they fed all the people very quickly. The show was great and I felt like all the dancers were feeling their Hawaiin heritage and our MC was great. We almost didn't do a luau because of all the negative reviews I was reading on the different luaus; I wasn't sure if it was worth the money. After having such a great time, I think if you go into it wanting a positive experience, you will have one. You can always find fault if you are looking for it, I wasn't looking for it. And for anyone wanting to do this right before they leave to go home, the show ended at 8pm and we had no trouble making a 10:45 flight back to the mainland.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“After 45years luau still in perfect setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Luau here in 1968 was very similar with pig in pit and great setting with ancient grounds for back ground. Back to celebrate 50th with family and the Island Breeze production very good. The gods kept the rain hovering near by but was a beautiful night to celebrate with our family.
Food plentiful and Bar unlimited. Sit in back can move around better with air flow better. Do not pay to sit in front -- wait to eat not long enough to be a problem. Enjoy!!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank journalist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good (but not great) for our first Luau”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was our first Luau and I guess we were expecting a little more. Our initial contact with the staff was a little unpleasant when I was turned away at the gate. Don’t forget to trade your voucher for a ticket, they won’t let you in. Even though they are both just a piece of paper you must have the “proper” ticket.
Also, don’t expect a free lei (LOL). These will cost you 6 bucks. Then, of course there are the pictures that they insist on taking then try to sell you. I guess it’s all about the tourist money. Anyway, once we got past that, the evening was quite pleasant. The food was very good and plentiful. The show was also very good and entertaining. The fact that it takes place in the back of the Marriott property where we were staying made it very convenient. Overall a good way to spend an evening

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Breeze Luau also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Island Breeze Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing