We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!”

Neptune Charlies Ocean Safaris
Book In Advance
More Info
$112.52*
and up
Reef and Dolphin Snorkel Eco Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We can't wait to show you the underwater world of Hawaii! From wild Hawaiian Spinner Dolphin encounters to diving with the world famous Kona Manta Rays, each EcoAdventure has been designed to bring you an unforgettable experience! Did you know that if you have NEVER tried scuba diving before, you can join us for a 2 tank introductory dive? We take intro's, certified divers, snorkelers and ride-alongs on most adventures! Customized private charters are also available. Join us today for an experience of a lifetime!
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were only on the Big Island for a few days, and had previously heard of the Manta Ray dives at Kona. We researched some companies beforehand and chose to dive with Neptune Charlie's. We also decided to package it with a couple of dives during the day and had a fantastic time! The captain, Glen, was entertaining, personable and was able to recommend many places to eat and check out while in Kona. Our dive guide, Seth, was very accommodating. He'd ask what types of things we wanted to see while on our dives and tried to make it happen. He also kept track of our air while we were watching the mantas later on. We just had to sit back and enjoy the show! Great time! We'll dive with them again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    702
    62
    19
    11
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“A-MAZING”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Just came back from the Big Island this November..highlight was the night time Manta Ray snorkel...sunset on the way out ..clear view of Maui and then gettting to be inches away from 5 Manta's ....great guides..Brian was our adorable strong swimmer who took us to the perfect viewing spot.....reccomended to all!!!!

Julie E

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joolz47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
“Manta Ray Adventure”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I saw this Big Island activity on You Tube and it sounded like fun. We had one of the best snorkeling experiences of our lives. On the evening of October 28, we were entertained by 29 Mantas and 3 Bottlenose dolphins made a guest appearance as well. The crew we had that night made the night time outing so much fun. Also viewed a beautiful Hawaiian sunset on our way to the snorkel/dive location. Thanks to all...outstanding.

Helpful?
Thank micjones70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beilstein, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dolphin swim”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I went with Neptune Charlie's for a morning dolphin snorkel - the crew were great! Very friendly, helpful and managed to make time to talk to everyone. David and Seth had a lot of great information on the island and scuba diving here. On our trip we saw several pods of dolphins and six manta rays and the crew made sure we got as many chances to swim with the wild dolphins and mantas as we could. Gear, fresh pineapple, water and snacks were all provided on the boat.
I would highly recommend this trip.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kim451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best boat for actually swimming with dolphins!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife and I were going to go on another well advertised dolpin adventure when a lady at our resort told us about Neptune Charlies boat. It is not a rubber boat that beats the crap out of you like the other ones out there. It is a real fishing boat. It even has a bathroom if needed! The number of people on the tour was 8 on a boat that probably sat 20. The captain lets you walk around, get on the bow and get some sun, etc. all while your guide points out things of interest. Within 15 minutes we saw dolphins but he advised us that he would take us farther up the coast to get away from the other tour boats. 10 minutes later he was putting us a head of the dolphins, we were in the water and minutes later we were surrounded by them! They are so playful and curious! Once they passed us, we were back on the boat and head out and around them again and back in the water. We did this over and over until the other boats showed up and ruined everything. They had no clue what they were doing and kept pushing the dolphins farther out to sea rather than getting in front of the like our captain did. We highly recommend going with Neptune Charlies. It truly was the best adventure we have had in over 25 years of visiting the islands!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neptune Charlies Ocean Safaris also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Neptune Charlies Ocean Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing