We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Whale Watching”

Neptune Charlies Ocean Safaris
Book In Advance
More Info
$112.52*
and up
Reef and Dolphin Snorkel Eco Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We can't wait to show you the underwater world of Hawaii! From wild Hawaiian Spinner Dolphin encounters to diving with the world famous Kona Manta Rays, each EcoAdventure has been designed to bring you an unforgettable experience! Did you know that if you have NEVER tried scuba diving before, you can join us for a 2 tank introductory dive? We take intro's, certified divers, snorkelers and ride-alongs on most adventures! Customized private charters are also available. Join us today for an experience of a lifetime!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Kona
1 review
“Awesome Whale Watching”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Captain Glenn and entire crew on Neptune Charlie's were very knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly. Seth did a fabulous job explaining everything there is to know about whales and then some. The highlight, of course, was whales, whales everywhere putting on a spectacular show for us all from spy hopping to breaching! Unbelievable! We highly recommend Neptune Charlie's and would definitely take our family and friends, including children, on this exciting water adventure. Also, although we took a lot of pictures, it is nothing compared to the video we purchased which also included some underwater filming. Wow!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PriscillaKona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    62
    19
    10
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Whales, whales, everywhere!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My family and I moved here about a year and a half ago. This whale watching trip was the best thing we have got to do here. We saw so many whales. They were jumping,spraying,playing, and swimming all around us. The captain shut the boat off for a little while so we just soaked up the sun and beauty of the surroundings. The whales weren't scared away so we got some fantastic pictures. The rest of the boat trip was great too. We saw a few dolphins and even a manta. The crew was very friendly and professional. We can't wait to do this again. I also did the manta ray night snorkeling and it was amazing. I would do any trip with these guys and am looking forward to the swim with the dolphins trip!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AJ0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
“Amazing Whale Watching”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The crew, Glenn and Seth, were wonderful and very knowledgeable! My children and I had an amazing time just being out on the boat and seeing the whales. There were other children that my kids played with and they were able to just run around and enjoy themselves as well without being constricted to one area. The whales gave us a wonderful show several times. They were playing and jumping, looking at us and just giving us a show, therefore allowing us to capture wonderful pictures and video! It was everything and much more than we expected to see and is definately something that we are going to do again with Neptune Charlie's!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank livesinkona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allyn, Washington, United States
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Of all the things and trips that I have done on Kona over the years, this is the absolute best. Great boat ride along the coast, fabulous sunset. We anchored in Manta Heaven, and that it was. The outing is very safe. You get shorty wet suits for boyency, fins and snorkel mask. We were in the water for 45 minutes. You do not have to be a swimmer or need to know about snorkeling. You hold on to a raft that has very bright lights in the center to attract . The people that are certified divers help with the bright lights. The plankton come to the surface and voile, the Mantas come. It is amazing. There must have been some dozen at a time doing belling rolls to eat the plankton,

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Adventure”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

As promised we snorkeled several times with a pod of around 200 dolphins. Even though there were only 4 of us on the morning excursion, the crew went out of their way, literally, to make sure we had a great experience. Going south from Kona to a usual spot for dolphins we found many boats and only a few very shy dolphins who wanted nothing to do with any of the people and very murky waters due to a shift in winds. Our captain decided to go way north along the coast past our original launch site to another spot that was supposed to have dolphins. They communicated with several of the other boats at the first spot who just decided to wait there. Even if more dolphins would arrive, the water was not clear. We went north, at a great expense to the company - I have no idea how much extra fuel was used - to a spot that was outstanding. The crew was so energetic and helpful, especially to the other couple who had never snorkeled before. We also had some very good looks at whales. This crew did everything they could to ensure that we did not "chase" after dolphins or whales, being acutely aware of leaving their habitat as unaffected as possible. I would strongly recommend this company.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neptune Charlies Ocean Safaris also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Neptune Charlies Ocean Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing