We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kona Expedition”

Sea Quest Snorkel Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.31*
and up
Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay
More Info
$158.61*
and up
Hawaii Combo: Wild Dolphin Swim and Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling
More Info
$851.98*
and up
Private Catamaran Charter
Ranked #2 of 199 Tours in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Snorkel the most pristine reefs in Hawaii! Explore sea caves and lava tubes along the rugged Kona Coast and observe dolphins and whales in their natural habitat as your US Coast Guard licensed captain shares with you the rich history, legends, and lore of the Big Island of Hawaii. For over 25 years we have specialized in snorkel tours designed especially for small groups creating an intimate and unique snorkeling adventure in one of the most beautiful and diverse places on Earth.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Kona Expedition”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was a great trip for my family - the crew was really helpful and informative.

Would highly recommend this to anyone!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TerryofMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,863
    120
    13
    4
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“3 spots snorkel tour”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I had the 3 locations snorkel tour and we loved it. We've snorkeled around the world and this was one of the best (even if actual diversity of fishes is generally limited in hawaii waters we did see a lot of them along with turtles and eels). The locations were great and varied, the high point being the captain cook landing. The staff was great and the logistics smooth. They waited for us even if we showed up a couple of minutes late at the rendez-vous point. I can't comment on the quality of the gear they provide since we travel with our own but it seemed adequate with ample choice in size and fit for masks and fins. The craft was in good shape and the lunch provided quite good. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is the price. Again, this is Hawaii so things are expected to cost a little more. I would recommend this to couples and families with teens alike since the locations are generally safe from rip currents and don't require lots of skills in avoiding contact with the reefs while swimming. As a bonus they brought us close to a pod of dolphins on the way in!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jonapro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sea Quest Snorkel tour fun experience!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We love snorkel! It's not always fun, though. A lot depends on the place but even more on people that take you to it. This time we got really lucky. The Captain Tony Roensch and Rich Sanchez were very professional. They started good conversation and made the time on the boat real fun for us, people from Russia, Canada and America. There were many kids and people for who this time was the first experience of even getting in the water. They loved it a lot! Captain Tony made the rafting real fun: he is a really good at riding this raft. He laid our raft to one side, then on another while laying twists on the water. At the same time nobody was scared just excited like on the best attraction. We saw dolphins really close, beautiful fish and sea caves and lava tubes. When we came back after snorkeling fresh fruits, snacks, cookies and cold drinks were waiting for us. Thank you, guys for great experience!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lufom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zillah, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Second SeaQuest Snorkel Aventure even better than first--highly recommend!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We love the snorkel adventure on the Zodiac boats--faster, smaller group, allows for close ups at interesting shoreline features. This is our second Kona SeaQuest Snorkel Adventure. As before, fun, laid-back crew and relaxed, friendly interactions with other snorkelers. We were dropped in three distinct locales, each offering something unique, and had plenty of snorkel time at each. We got snacks and water along the way and light lunch at the last stop. Just like last time, we found ourselves in the midst of a pod of spinner dolphins, which was delightful! What a fun experience! I've done the catamaran snorkel trip, too, and it's good, but this trip offers more snorkeling, more adventure, and more flexibility, and a more intimate feel.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarolynC-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great trip!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our family of 5 took the two stop morning snorkeling trip when visiting in June.

The two snorkeling spots were excellent. (One is fairly easily accessible by land, the other one not). The crew was very friendly, helpful, and informative. (Mary was captain). My son who is 10 is a bit leary of deep water and hesitant to snorkel at the deeper site, but the crew encouraged him to go out on a see-through board and he really enjoyed it.
The boat ride was fast and fun. Snacks were perfect (fruit, chips, cookies, juices, water).
Thanks for a great trip!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank msandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Quest Snorkel Tours also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Sea Quest Snorkel Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing