We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great breakfast, great hosts, and great coffee!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms
Ranked #6 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great breakfast, great hosts, and great coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The location is great because it's only 10 minutes to the "downtown core" of Kona. I will trade this 10 minutes of travel time for the coolness you get up on the mountain in the evenings for sleeping. Especially after spending a day in the heat, it was very refreshing to return to the Mango Sunset.

When you wake up in the morning, you get a delicious homecooked breakfast with some of (if not the) best coffee you'll ever have. They also have great fresh juice for the non-coffee lovers out there.

The hosts were great to talk with about the Island and it's activities and history, and just to have general conversation with. They were also accomodating as our flights were cancelled and we had to push back our visit a day, which helped alleviate a stressful situation.

This is the place I will return to when I come back to the Big Island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    50
    19
    10
    7
See reviews for
22
114
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We had a 2 night stay in July, at the tail end of a storm they had. The cool air and fantastic views were awesome. Breakfast and coffee and morning music made our stay memorable. Hans and Marsha were perfect hosts and very organized. This was our first stay at any B&B. It won't be our last. Hasso the dog was a pleasant greeter along with the woofers. They seemed to be excited for their opportunity to be there and learn/work. I bought coffee to take home. It reminds us of our stay at Mangos. We'll see you again.

Helpful?
Thank AnSaffair
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Keaau, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This b & b is not to be missed as Hans and Marsha are wonderful hosts. We very much enjoyed our stay at their beautiful place, and the sunset views high above Kona are a treat for anybody. The rooms were clean, and the breakfasts were just awesome- especially the lilikoi pancakes and the coffee.

The elevation at which the b&b is located is perfect, and the evenings and mornings were wonderfully cool.

As a Big Island resident, but living on the Hilo side, we often get a chance to try many kinds of Kona coffee but Hans coffee is the best. Their coffee has almost a rich, creamy taste with the french press coffee we were served in the morning having nearly a foamy head, reminiscent of freshly roasted Peet's coffee. The Vienna roast was simply superb. It is worth to stay at the Mango Sunset just for a chance to try their coffee. Plus, Hans is very knowledgable about natural history and farming, so I learned a lot from him.

Room Tip: If possible try for the room with the bathroom inside, but all rooms are clean and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brook Park
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Close to Kailua-Kona, but up on the mt. where we could listen to the birds singing and were away from the hubub. Excellent food. Beautiful view. Gracious hosts. Enjoyed Hans' stories.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Enjoyed staying here immensely. Delicious breakfasts and coffee - Hans was happy to accomodate my gluten free diet with a few suggestions. Beautiful view and the sweetest cats you will ever meet - especially the black & white female. Hans is a former college profession and I found his stories fascinating. Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Like other reviewers have mentioned, the coffee and breakfasts were great and the rooms are small but clean and functional. The owner has a strong personality which rubs some people the wrong way. I really enjoyed chatting with him and didn't find any of the rules out of the ordinary or that they were strictly enforced. Overall I had a great experience but can understand how other people may not.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leif N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Interesting and scenic location. Not especially convenient way up the hill from Kona but nicely separated from the bustle of the town. Very good breakfasts and coffee. Rooms are small but clean and adequate. The rules and personalities of the owners are intrusive and detract from the experience. Hans is knowledgeable and interesting and wants to share his knowledge but can be overbearing. We got tired of it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
5.9 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
5.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
6.4 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 2,491 reviews
9.9 mi away
Big Island Retreat
Big Island Retreat
#3 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
5.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms

Property: Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms
Address: 73-4261 Mamalahoa Hwy., Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family -style BnB, located in 2111' above the ocean on our gold-medal-winning Organic Kona Coffee Estate. Hot breakfasts and parking included; free WiFi, plus our Organic Kona Coffee, fruit, juice included. Quiet and secluded, cozy,private driveway. Breathtaking ocean views across our Kona Coffee Farm from the West Lanai and the Gazebo, where serve our breakfast to all of our guests. Minutes from Kona town, beaches and airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Mango Sunset BnB at Lyman Farms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Sunset Bnb At Lyman Farms Hotel Kailua-Kona
Mango Sunset BnB At Lyman Farms Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing