We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swing with the Peacocks!”

Makalei Hawaii Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Swing with the Peacocks!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

What a great place to play golf. The course can be difficult if you don't hit the fairways. The views from atop the tee boxes were just unbelievable. There were "friendly" peacocks on every hole. You can buy birdseed at the pro shop to feed them. From the time you arrive to the time you leave, the staff treats you like royalty. The course was in excellent shape (except on a 460 yard hole my ball was in 4 inches of un-mowed grass about of a 3 foot circle and 12 inches form the 150 marker-pole-right in the middle of the fairway). RATS! The green fee was very reasonable for such an emaculate course ($235 dollars). They also charged an additional 25 fee for my wife to ride with me. She got to feed all the peacocks. I shot 5 over from the tips and was glad to get out of there with that score.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mccuney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    45
    12
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views, Great Golf. Bring the Peacock Food.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I'm not much of a golfer, but I enjoyed this course tremendously. High up on Hualalai volcano, almost in a cloud forest, you will never see more green. It is not built around homes, so you are out in this beautiful forest with all kinds of fantastic birds: peacocks and native francolins, etc.

The course is steep, being on the sides of a mountain, but the holes are all very playable. However, because it is so lush, a ball barely in the rough may never be found.

The driving range closes at 1:00pm on Wednesdays.

Will definitely play here again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Course on the Mountain Side”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I played here during our visit- it's a really pretty course, the rates are good and they have nice rental clubs including left handed clubs. For us it was a fun challenge as we are usually playing much more flat courses- this one is up and down all day! There is a refreshment cart the comes around, and you'll see peacocks all over the course. Some GREAT views and nice landscaping. Easy access from the Kona area- play it and have fun!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest Park, WA
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun (sort of), challenging and interesting golf”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

When they built Makalei they built it to conform with the natural terrain rather than conforming the terrain to the requirements of resort golf. That is both good and bad. In terms of good, it means the layout is interesting and varied and challenging and fun for some low handicappers and those who don't take their golf too seriously. In terms of bad, it means there are huge changes in elevation, tons of sidehill lies, often narrow and always sloping fairways, and few bailouts, all of which make it tortuous for beginners, players who don't hit it arrow straight or those who take their golf very seriously. It is a very penalizing course. It is a great change of pace from the resort courses along the coast. The wildlife is, well, wild. And like everything else good and bad. For example, the peacocks were mating here during our April visit and they were quite lovely, except for when they decided to mating call during the middle of our backswings. They are LOUD. The staff is friendly. The conditioning is average. The pace of play was very, very slow (5 hours). But the value is high relative to other courses on the island. We definitely recommend it, especially for better players. Just keep in mind that it's not the same old, same old. It is unlike any other course you'll play.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MEsteban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good course, great value”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you're looking for something different from the typical resort golf courses on the Big Island, and you're looking for a great value, this is the course to play. It may not have all the amenities of some of the other "big name" courses on the island, but you should definitely not miss it. It's an "up mountain" course, ranging in elevation from 1,800 to 2,300 feet. The course is hilly, and somewhat "tight", but it's a fair (and difficult) challenge (slope rating 134). It's a course you must "think" your way around, and, if you do so, you will be rewarded. Your every shot will be viewed by dozens of beautiful peacocks that are on the course. The front nine is quite a bit shorter than the back nine (2,779 yards -vs- 3,382), and the greens are small, but reasonable. Several of the greens are two-tiered, so your approach shots are important. One thing to keep in mind is that the weather "up mountain" is very different than on the coast, often somewhat worse. So, it might be a good idea to check the weather the day before you go, so you won't be surprised. My wife and I play a lot of golf on our trips to the Big Island, and we never come without playing at Makalei. I've had some of my best rounds, and some of my worst rounds here, and i come back every trip, and will continue to do so in the future.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makalei Hawaii Country Club also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Makalei Hawaii Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing