We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy to get lost!”

Honokohau Marina & Small Boat Harbor
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.30*
and up
Guaranteed Manta Ray Night Snorkel
Ranked #25 of 129 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mesa, AZ
Level Contributor
147 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Easy to get lost!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place needs better signage. Every time I have taken a charter or tour out of here I have had to hunt, really hunt, to find my group. The "road" through the marina is very uneven in places, and I worry about getting a flat tire. On a good day, you can drive on back through the marina and park near Honokohau Bay where there is some great snorkelling and there are also turtles. Otherwise, you have to park elsewhere and make the long walk to Honokohau Bay.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kmesaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    103
    23
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice Little Harbor”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Intimate little harbor where you can see some pro fishermen heading out to get their lot of tuna for the day. They are friendly, answer quesitons from those of us who are not in t'the know', and facinating to watch. Gorgeous location, walk along the marina, look into the water, and see the gorgeous fish swimming around.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice boat harbor and restaurant”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We ate in Bite Me restaurant the best ahi tuna I ever ate. would
highly recommend the boat harbor was typical small fishing boats
with lots of activity

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank barbsoluri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice Marina”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a lovely marina, lots of nice boats and a couple of places to eat. We parked here a few times so we could go to the nearby beach and fishponds. Nice to stroll around and look at the boats and catches.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank garrytev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kailua kona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2 great "pau hana" treats.”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Pau hana is TGIF in Hawaiian. The Harbor house and the Bite Me restaurants and bars overlook the small boat harbor. Anything from dingys to large cabin cruisers. Brews are great and a fun place to check out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank darlene f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honokohau Marina & Small Boat Harbor also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Honokohau Marina & Small Boat Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing