We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet and intersedting town”
Review of Holualoa Village

Holualoa Village
Ranked #34 of 130 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Many artists are galleries are found here
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sweet and intersedting town”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Great place to check out the real Hawaii. Visit the shops have a meal. It is a relaxing and friendly town. A must see.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    64
    18
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming Walkabout and Windowshopping”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Or actual shopping, especially for local art! This place is such a relief from the larger, resorty beachy areas. All of the artists we met were pleased to talk about their art and the area and we had a great time here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jendickinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“IPU HALE GALLERY was worth the trip!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

So many nice gallerys...good restaurant...but this time Bill Wright, artist and owner if IPU HALE GALLERY, spoke with my husband and I for about twenty minutes about the art of Gourd creation. I would recommend that if you go to Holualoa, you visit IPU Hale.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
345 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Very very small art community above Kona”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I love art in all its forms and I can't pass up a gallery, however the Holualoa group of galleries is very small, and most of the works on display require an eclectic bent for the unusual and overpriced. Several galleries are often closed for part of the day, and some seem to neglect signs that state when they will be back. There a couple of galleries that are north of the hotel, so if you are walking, don't assume the cluster around the Holualoa theatre is all there is to see. If you have 2 weeks or more on the island, take the time to drive the scenic upper road to Holualoa between Kona and Keauhou and visit this quaint village. If you only have one week, you may want to save this place for future time when you have the time to walk from one end to the other to explore the roughly 8 shops.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank charlesodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quaint Artist's Village”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We spent about an hour here wandering through a few galleries and exploring this 2 block little village. It was a very slight detour from our usual route home and it was a nice diversion and a memorable experience.
Depending on the kind of art you enjoy you could spent an hour to quite a few here, really depends on you.
We found the ukelele maker to be a most interesting stop.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bucketlistgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holualoa Village also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Holualoa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing