We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Jungle Out There”

Big Island Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since the day the Big Island Country Club opened to rave reviews in 1997, it has been on the "must play" list of the golfing visitor to Hawaii's Big Island. That's not only because of its spectacular location and scenic beauty, but equally because of its well-deserved reputation as a course that welcomes both the novice player as well as the low-handicap expert. The course is simultaneously enjoyable yet challenging, and is designed for every level of playing ability. Designed by famed golf course architect Perry Dye, son of Pete Dye, the par 72 course has all the popular attributes and interesting features that make his layouts so popular to golfers of varying skills: wide, gently rolling bermuda grass fairways, medium-size undulating Bent grass greens, and an abundance of water.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
952 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 595 helpful votes
“It's a Jungle Out There”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We have played here quite a few times over the years and conditions are slipping fast.
After playing Mauna Lani and Waikoloa Kings course the conditions here are deplorable.
There are large herds of goats/sheep and flocks of turkeys running wild on the course. The goats/sheep are visibly part of the course maintenance staff. They cut the grass. The turkeys and some Nenes provide pace of play monitoring. There are no human Marshalls to maintain pace of play or to allow faster groups to play ahead.
The "grass" on this course is sometimes weeds, and is wildly uneven. The bent grass greens
haven't been rolled, not cut properly, and are bumpy and uneven just like the tees and fairways.
You will almost never find an even lie here. There are so many uphill, downhill, and sidehill lies
playing out of fairways that are deeper than rough should be.
Sadly, this tract has some beautiful flowering trees, great views of many bird species, and is located in a cool temperate area of the high country.
This course is very popular with visitors because the rates are much lower than the Kohala
courses. There is less of a difference in green fees for locals.
The good news is that there are friendly ladies at the pro shop check in and Nick has it all together at the starter's post.
Course conditioning and pace of play control are pressing issues they need to deal with.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank bobemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    68
    11
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big Island Country Club”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is a pretty good old course. The lay out is fair but challenging. The biggest issue they have is there are no amenities (they are working out of trailers) and the maintenance is less than outstanding. The greens are pretty good but the tee boxes are all beat up. The place needs more money for maintenance. Over all it is pretty good and the price is fair for what you get.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandwichhole6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pace Of Play and Customer Service Needs Revamping !!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just FYI, there are many other courses for less or the same amount of money that will provide a MUCH better golf experience.
Whatever problems they are trying to resolve here , should not be taken out on the customers.
I am from Hawaii so it hurts to write this review, but I count on the reviews from Trip Advisor and it's only fair to post my experience.
The front desk women ( both of them ) do NOT want to be there and that is the first contact at the course and on the phone. If I had to pick one word it would be "Snarky". As I Stood there she Loudly offered a discount to a person who 'forgot' their coupon , and then proceeded to ignore my request for the same discount. OUCH !
The par 3 on the front had ( sit down ) 4 groups . .that's right . . . . count it out . . .8 carts of 2 people. While the pace was on target when we arrived . . .it went straight to "you know where " as we waited and waited . . . ** here's an idea. MAKE IT A mandatory, drop zone. if you don't hit the green or close to it . . . . drop your ball . .and keep moving. I know that this is long review , , but TOO many courses will take you money, welcome your arrival . . . and keep the pace of play, and honor the prices . . . **we even had the gal at Makalei, tell us where to get a coupon and get a better rate . . .because she could not provide it.
We played Makalei for less , and Hapuna !! We also played Hamakua C.C. , a 9 hole ,15.00 . . .well maintained . . . super unique set up . . . in Honokaa . . . **look it up ) They wanted OUR business . . . Sorry Big Island C.C. . . . . people don't want to pay a lot of money and be treated this way. We were sad to have never gotten to the Water Hole . . . . We hit 3 hours after 9 holes and had to {" Hele On"} .
Move on in Hawaiian !! I suggest you move on . .until they work out their issues.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank GoSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beware of this one”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We come to Kona every year and golf a lot. We stopped into this golf course,asked the fee and made a reservation. Now, beware this course is not on the ocean, not as well maintained as the resort courses and is a 45 min drive from downtown Kona. We were quoted $45 at booking, but next day they charged us $89, told us THEN the $45 was a resident fee. We can golf at hapuna for $75, so why did we drive up the mountain? Because we thought it was good value. They were very abrupt about it, we learned later that if our tee time had been 30 minutes later it would have been $65, we weren't offered this at all.

But if you want to hit balls around goats and turkeys...this might be for you. It was fun to see all the NeNe's......they are everywhere.....we did enjoy the wildlife...but won't do it again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A highlight on our Hawaiian vacation”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had so much fun golfing this course. It was about a 40 minute drive from where we were staying in Kona. Since you're traveling north, it tends to be a little cooler with the higher elevation. The course is pretty well maintained and offers a challenge to all levels of golfers. One day, we scheduled our tee time at 3 pm since it was only $35 including the cart. We ended up getting in all 18 holes. What a bargain! Their signature hole #18 is a challenge over water to a small island. Expect to share the course with wild turkeys and goats.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jackie056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Island Country Club also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Big Island Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing