We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, Quiet, Walk if you like.”

Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$123.96*
and up
Kona Tour: Coffee Plantation, Kealakekua Bay, Kaloko-Honokohau Park and Bee Farm
Ranked #9 of 130 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Walled Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
131 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very Nice, Quiet, Walk if you like.”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you park at the visitor center off the highway there is a 3/4 mile hike to get to the beach. Good path. Or you can park on the far north side of the Marine and your right there. There is alot of sandy beach to walk, and many large sea turtles on the beach sunning themselves. Please keep back from them. We saw many people get to within 2 or 3 feet of them to have their pictures taken. This is against park rules but there is no one there to enforce it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    175
    35
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Peaceful refuge right outside of town”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stopped by this park on our last day on the Big Island. After a quiet 10 min hike to the shore, we were rewarded with a great natural shoreline. Saw many large sea turtles right off the beach. This is a great quiet place to enjoy the shore. As with many beaches near Kona, it's not a great swimming beach, but perfect to just relax in nature!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelmama98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
180 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We did the long walk from the harbor next door, to the visitor center, all around the park and along the coast. There is a nice contrast between the volcanic pasts of the park and the coast. We saw turtles and enjoyed the signage explaining the historical aspects of the park. There was a ukelele class going on at the visitor center, adding to the cultural aspects of our visit. Eat at Bite Me after your walk around the park!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank THDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet park, easy hiking”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was perfect for our afternoon adventure the day we were flying out of Kona. It's close proximity to the airport and nearby Harbor where we ate at Bite Me Fishmarket was a great way to bid adieu to the Big Island. So peaceful and serene.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MMIAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
99 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“See the sea turtles”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The area is like walking on the moon with the volcanic rock. The walk down to the ocean is tricky, but worth it as the tidal pools had sea turtles to look at.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Minnesota42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing