We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““A must see if your touring along the coast!””

Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$123.96*
and up
Kona Tour: Coffee Plantation, Kealakekua Bay, Kaloko-Honokohau Park and Bee Farm
Ranked #8 of 133 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
““A must see if your touring along the coast!””
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great place to learn about history and culture of the area. We made it just in time to hear one of the rangers tell the story about the historic park. Very interesting and fun to walk around

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Yelena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    176
    37
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My family and I found this park by accident. While not terribly large, the park is gorgeous and worth the time. We saw several sea turtles, both on the beach and in the water. The natural crevices in the lava were teeming with small fish, crabs, and other sea creatures which were washed into the crevices by the high tides. My entire family found things to look and marvel at in this park.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarge3618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great bit of Hawaiian History and Culture”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

It's so wonderful to see so many areas being protected and open for us to see and learn from.

It's much easier to park at the end of the harbor and then walk in that way as opposed to the .8 miles from the visitor center.

We missed driving down to the fish pond again. Will try and get out there earlier next time.

The gates close at 4 so plan accordingly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank hulabum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for the Keiki”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

At the south end of the beach, the bay is only a couple feet deep for yards! Excellent place to play with the kids and just relax and enjoy the water.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank hicksspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great place to spot sea turtles”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This national historic site is near the airport in Kona and is definietely worth a couple of hours of your time. You can see a few histoircal structures such as a heiau and some fish ponds. The beach is a great site for turtle spotting! The day we went, no turtles were sunning themselves, but we did see at least a dozen of them munching on the seaweed in the shallow water.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sarah421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing