We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome snorkeling adventure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Discoveries

Dolphin Discoveries
Ranked #5 of 198 Tours in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphin Discoveries offers unique ocean experiences that will touch your heart and live in your memory for a lifetime!
Caldwell, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome snorkeling adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Kai our captain was fun and informative. We saw lots of beautiful fish and the coral was amazing. They gave us a snack of fresh fruit which hit the spot and Oreo cookies for later. The gear we used was great and our masks never fogged. We were on a small boat with 6 so it was like we were calling the shots. We saw whales and and the very end got an amazing show with spinner dolphins. They came right up to the boat as if to show off!! I would recommend this adventure to everyone. A word of caution we traveled with our older friend and getting in and out of this boat seemed to be a little difficult. We will be back next year to swim with the dolphins! Definitely a must while your in beautiful Kona!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,140
    70
    16
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rush City, Minnesota
1 review
“Beautiful Time !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Had a great time with Dave and Kai, They were very informative, we saw some Humpback whales and got to swim with the dolphins, they were out to make us happy :-) weather was beautiful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank trollingrushlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keewatin ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“sights and history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Jenna, our captain, gave us great tour of the coast, including historical tales, and natural wonders. Two dive spots were beautiful, loads of beautiful coral, and plenty of fish. Enjoyed the dolphis and the mama humpback and baby who chose to accompany us part of the way. Learned a great deal about Hawaii, and had good suggestions for followup visits to places along the coast.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank pennron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Snorkeling with dolphin discoveries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Went snorkeling with Dolphin Discoveries to kealakekua bay. The water was so clear you could see forever. The fish and coral were amazing. They no longer allow kayaks there. You have to get a permit to hike in or take a tour. Jenna and Dave were awesome and patient as well as informative. I was not expecting a snack after the snorkel, but the fresh pineapple, papaya and snacks were wonderful. We saw a turtle and the spinner dolphins played right by the boat and the dolphin babies were adorable. We also saw several whales on the trip. I can't say enough about Dolphin Discoveries. We have a 7 year old boy that had a Bad experience snorkeling because of the mask leaking before and they took extra time to make sure his equipment fit and was comfortable. He had a blast.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Muffiepeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
“Unbelievable family experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We are a family of four. We booked this activity Feb. 23 through pleasant holidays. We had only one snorkeling long time back (also in hawaii) without kids. Our kids (9 yr and 12 yr) had no experience at all. But Cathay and David brought us such an unbelievable family experience together. We saw groups of dolphins marching below us. These are wild dolphins, not the ones you would see In a amusement park or Mexican resort ! David and Cathay are very patient and helpful ones. We were treated with nice snacks--delicious fruit medley,cookies, cheese during this trip. The papaya is so sweet.

After our dolphin contact, we were also cruising to a spot to watch whales. False whales maybe.

My 9 yr old son cannot help looking for further snorkeling. and I heard a Canadian said this was the best snorkeling experience. We don't know our future. But Thanks for this unbelievable initial expeirence.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JasL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Discoveries also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Dolphin Discoveries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing