We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good by island standards”

Beach Tree Bar and Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Beach Tree Bar and Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 288 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The essence of "barefoot elegance," Beach Tree Bar and Lounge has the feel of a Hawaiian beach house. Diners choose between al fresco beachside seating or an elegant open-air dining room with 16-foot vaulted ceilings. An outdoor lounge sets the stage for the perfect beachfront cocktail with nightly live entertainment. Featuring Italian and Mediterranean cuisine with California and tropical influences, specialty dishes include: House-made Pappardelle with Hāmākua Mushrooms and Parmigiano Crema; Gnocchi with Oxtail Ragout; and Mascarpone and Proscuitto Pizza. Beach Tree Bar and Lounge offers over 60 wines by the glass, carafe or bottle and is open for lunch and dinner daily. The culinary philosophy is to start with ingredients from the island, and then beyond – ensuring incorporation of the freshest, most sustainable ingredients available. Working with over 160 local farms, approximately 75% of the food served at Beach Tree Restaurant is from the Island of Hawaii.
Vashon, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good by island standards”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Location is great, food is only good by mainland standards. Service is wonderful and personal. My wife had swordfish which she said was not as good as mine (but it was our anniversary so she might just have been nice) and my cioppino was good but not great. Desserts were over the top chocolate. Lovely setting on the beach.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhardy5554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    88
    49
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hawaiian Beach Front Dining at its Best!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This lovely jewel of a restaurant is located at the Four Seasons Hualālai at Historic Ka'ūpūlehu. We ate there for dinner with some friends and was very pleased with everything. The view and the sound of the crashing waves on the rocks was so relaxing. Most entrees are in the $30-40 range and are worth the price. My husband ordered the Short Ribs, tender and succulent, melted in his mouth. I ordered the Shrimp Scampi Special. Wonderful large Shrimp in a light fresh tomato sauce. The cocktail drink ordered was Ginger Blossom, so refeshing with a lime taste. Be sure to make reservations. Highly recommend this Restaurant!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klmeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Relaxing dinner”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

You can not beat the location of this restaurant. We ate dinner after sunset and it was still beautiful. Next time we will leave the beach earlier and get there for sunset dinner.
Our fish dinners were delicious. The wait staff was friendly and efficient. The price was comparable to other nice restaurants in the area. The four seasons resort is beautiful. We did not stay there, but the valet was very friendly.
We would highly recommend this restaurant and we plan on returning next year.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daisyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful covered beach grille”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a lovely spot to enjoy beautiful surf and fresh ocean air while having lunch. We sat under the tall structure, happy to be away from wind. Ocean breezes & crashing surf are close enough to relax, yet not pummel you. Servers and hostess were excellent. Menu varied, clothing casual-beachy. Loved it! Well enjoy this option from now on over the Fairmont Orchid's version any day! Much more civilized without price gouging. About 10-15 minutes south from Mauna Lani/Fairmont area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank COArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Cuisine on the Big Island, HI”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was fortunate to eat both lunch and dinner at this wonderful ocean side/beach side restaurant in the Four Seasons Hualalai. Having worked thirteen years as sales manager at the Four Star Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa resort in Monterey, CA I was very aware of the service and cuisine levels at a Five Star resort. Without question, although pricey, this is the best restaurant on the Big Island and well work the drive from Keahou to eat here. The cuisine was outstanding, the service exemplary and the views unparalleled. The friendliness and welcoming attitude of the staff throughout the resort made us feel comfortable even though we weren't staying at the Four Seasons. I did visit all the shops, talked to Front Desk and Concierge personnel, golf club personnel as well as the staff at the Beach Tree. Service was timely but not rushed or too slow. The staff treated me like family and they even were able to impart exact information on the resort and the cuisine they were serving. When I came back for dinner, two days after having lunch at the Beach Tree, the staff remembered me. It was wonderful to sit at the ocean's edge and enjoy sunset, crashing surf, breaching whales and relax over lunch and dinner here. I heartily recommend this restaurant and definitely will always eat here when back on the Big Island. For all I experienced it proved once again to me why the Four Seasons Hotels were the benchmark for Woodside Hotels, who owns the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betsie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Tree Bar and Lounge also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Beach Tree Bar and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing