We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most consistant good service and excellent food.”

Kona Brewing Company
Ranked #12 of 132 things to do in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Post Falls, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
664 reviews
192 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Most consistant good service and excellent food.”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Who knew a brew pub attached to a brewery could have such good, clean organic food to go with great beer and really good service? Come ready to wait , even if you come early to lunch. This place offers pizza, sandwiches, salads( The best we found on the island). Kona beer is world famous, and that name alone could draw a crowd, every time we went there were folks we'd seen before enjoying a meal and a brew. There is no view, but the open air seating, and indoor dining are very comforting, and relaxing. I'm sure it is part of the reason people keep coming back. And did I mention the beer? Parking is tough to get but the near by mall has a bunch of mean signs, but we did not see any problems.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank wdlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    276
    78
    8
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice night out”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nice outdoor atmosphere, day or night. Live entertainment at night. Food is pretty good and so is the beer. Surprisingly no burgers on the menu. Had the wings and pulled pork, pretty good. Pizza looks good, tastes ok. Still a great place to go on a balmy Hawaiian evening with friends or family.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountain view
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gone down hill”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I hadn't visited Kona for several years, but Kona Brewing has always been a high point of being down town. Unfortunately, it seems to have really gone over to tourist trap... with a decent bar if you just walk straight in. They've added a bunch of tables and an outdoor "gift shop". I think the locals use the drive up "growler shack" or just go straight back for a brew.

Good things: decent beer (I heard that only the barley wine and a few selected beers are actually brewed on site any more), good pizza (but a little uneven in the cooking).
Bad things: the wait (if you let them seat you), the loud pop music, overwhelmed wait staff.

We were told the wait was 20 minutes at 7:30 on a Thursday... walked past 7 open tables with the provided radio-buzzer... and drank at the bar (finding out what wasn't being brewed there)... until after 20 minutes a waitress took us to a table I'd pointed out on the way in and put some silverware on it. We were blasted with music until apparently someone else asked the NIN to be turned down to a tolerable level. Food came quickly, and was good, but one of the pizzas was burned a bit on one side.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank joeblo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensboro
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cool atmosphere, great beer, just OK food”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had the beer sampler, strawberry salad, bbq chicken pizza, and fish tacos. The beer was really good. The salad was the best out of these three dishes and it was only OK. Maybe other dishes are better but we left feeling that this place was just mehhhh.

If you are just going for the beer then I give this place a 5/5.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank meekszilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Took forever to get a table, but the food was good.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had read lots of reviews about this place and decided to come and try out the beer. I got the nachos topped with kalua pork; it really was fantastic and the portion was huge. He liked the beer he sampled (think it was the Longboard Lager) but the real highlight for him was the kalua pork quesadilla. This is where his obsession with kalua pork started; he had a bit here and then he asked waiters at every restaurant we went to for the rest of the trip if they had any kalua pork on the menu. The obsession got so bad that he tried to make his own kalua pork at home...he damn near burned down the apartment. Needless to say, the kalua pork quesadilla is really, really good. :-)

Downside is that it took well over 40 minutes to get a table. But at least it was a beautiful day, so we enjoyed sitting outside until they found a table for us.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SadLawGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Brewing Company also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing