We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$112
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$189
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$300
$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kanaloa at Kona(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
$118
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$939
$839
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveler rating
6
1
2
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
1
2
2
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 14 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2017 via mobile

our stay at johns was great! He was super helpful ensuring we had everything we needed to have a comfortable and great stay, he was also very knowledgeable suggesting awesome things to check out around the island. The room was perfect, it contained all the amenities we needed, the deck/patio area was so cozy, we ate all our meals out there with a beautiful view of the sunset in the evenings. Overall the place had a wonderful cabin-esk feel to it. Different from what you find in a more commercial hotel vibe, more homey feeling. It was a great way to really experience and feel welcome Into the aloha experience!

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
Thank stephanies1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2017

John was a tour guide, owner and provided me with tips of the best trips to take. Fresh Fruit on site. Go and pick it yourself. The owner knows all about Hawaii. I came here to experience Hawaii. Hawaii now goes home with me. Thank you John.

Room Tip: Balcony view of the ocean
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2017

The location is more of a house compartmentalized like an apartment with 6 units rather than a hotel or motel. The ambience was friendly and clean. John, the property supervisor, was very kind and accommodating to us. The property itself is older and can use a bit of improvement but the service was excellent and very personalized. We accidentally planned a tour on the last day and needed to check out a couple of hours late but they let us stay without any issue.

Room Tip: no ac available
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aarend92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2016

Only stayed one night. It was very dirty, with clothes and junk laying all over the outside of the home. My credit card was overcharged as well and we had to dispute that. Pool not useable because it was so dirty. Not as described.

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Manager at Kona Hawaii Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2017

thanks for your feedback ,
Oh yes like many of the places in town we do have a
refundable deposit/
which is not a charge.
and hawaiian tax too of course.
Our mostly edible plant area outside
contains lots of dirt and mulch where we grow lots of spinach , passion fruit and flowers. That is the great thing about hawaii its so alive with life and growth of edible plants. As in any working location that offers places to stay we are always working on things and trying to improve them. Go to our work areas away from the rooms and we do have linen , supplies being processed and cleaning supplies. In hawaii we have black sided pools to gather the sun , and it make the water 70-85 , before solar panels 70-100, with a cover up to 110 degrees. We recommend that if you prefer a condo, or hotel don't stay at small rustic country guesthouses in town, some have sheep, goats, chickens, turkeys. Smaller properties are not for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2016

the photo on Tripadvisor was listed under "Lsurfer" and had a room with a kitchen sink and microwave inside. this room I got was not this one and was under a different name, "Kona Guest House" .the place is run down, the emergency exit is the bathroom window with the louvers removed, so you push out the screen for a quick exit, but window cannot be closed and thus was cold in the mornings. and easy for anyone to get in that way. the lock was a padlock on the sliding glass door. the "gas stove" was a propane camp stove that I was afraid to operate, microwave and toaster oven dirty, so I was not able to cook to save money, 1 reason I booked a place with "cooking facilities". breakfast provided was fruit on the property trees, the one good thing. says there are 6 parking spaces but only 2 are level, the rest on a steep slant, with 2 cars behind the first 2. very awkward for getting luggage in and out. television is only Netflix, no local channels. it was a quiet neighborhood, except for the turkeys goggling at dawn.

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank 777bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Front Office Manager at Kona Hawaii Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2016

thanks for the review
yes pictures
we have recently updated our pictures
we have put new beds in too
its always a good idea to share your preferences . It sounds like it might have been best to stay in the room you orginally booked with the private kitchen. I am sorry many times i try to upgrade people at no extra cost to a room with the better view
sounds like the surfer would have been a better fit.
room details
windows
we have had to take out some of the window slates to allow air as many guests come from colder places and close off the windows to damage the unit, and make unit unavailable for others, windows on the secound level no easy to access.
place
yes definately not a condo or hotel and more of a simple place,
its an older simple hawaiian home
rooms and location
with their larger king sized beds, cleaned well, and great location in town can be a great fit for many, but not condo and big hotel folks
aloha
thanks again for the feedback ,
1 free day for next trip in the surfer room

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews