We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer and food”

Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery
Ranked #9 of 290 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The 2,000-square-foot outdoor lanai, surrounded by lush tropical vegetation and tiki torches, offers seating for 175 patrons. Customers also can enjoy a cool meal or beverage inside the air-conditioned bar area at one of several surrounding tables or at the koa U-shaped bar itself. Inside the bar area is the retail store, stocked with colorful T-shirts, hats, towels, coasters, mugs and much more.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great beer and food”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

I've been traveling to the Island for several years and have clocked some quality time here. The food is very good and the staff is great! I feel like home or maybe even a local here as many servers remember me and several remember my name and where I am from. With the thousands on folks coming and going, I found this to be really delightful. It's like my neighborhood pub in Kona. Mahalo to Crouton, Su, Jackie, Marcy, Pearce and all the rest!

Helpful?
Thank Baligirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,465
    1,738
    382
    78
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great outside dinning with live music”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Really love the beer, food is good, live music and outside patio awesome. The have many more beers on tap than bottled with great variety. Will return next time on Kona.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WVURover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, USA
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure (literally)”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Tucked away on a hill on the edge of the Kailua warehouse area, this gem is well worth the effort to
Find it. Naturally, they have a great selection of their
Own locally brewed craft beers, but the quality of their menu and the outdoor atmosphere were a pleasant
Surprise. Don't be mislead, it is a tourist Mecca and
Fairly noisy, but the overall food quality and dining experience was excellent. Word of warning. Reservations highly advised and allow yourself time to find a parking spot!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CAD99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Not just a brewery.... they have a restaurant!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

WE have been going to Kona form years. but never went to the Kona Brewery because we were not interested in beer or going down to the industrial part of town at night. WE met a couple who had dinner there and encouraged to try it, so we did. What a pleasant surprise! The food and service were excellent and the pricing was reasonable ( for Kona ) as well. It certainly is in a strange location and has no view. It has seating inside and out, but we chose the outside seating as it was less noisier than the pub atmosphere inside. They had a good menu selection and we were very pleased that we chose to try the Brewery. We will be back! Note: This place is packed at almost any time of day. We went at 12:00PM, 3:00PM, and finally came back at 5:15 and only had a short wait.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charlesodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stopped in for lunch and of course beer. I did the small taster, although I liked them all, my favorite was the Koko Brown, it's yummy. My husband is a Long Board fan. We sat outdoors and had a really good time chatting with friends and enjoying our drinks and food :)

Looking forward to going back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DandRWolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing