We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Beer Indifferent Service”

Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery
Ranked #9 of 290 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The 2,000-square-foot outdoor lanai, surrounded by lush tropical vegetation and tiki torches, offers seating for 175 patrons. Customers also can enjoy a cool meal or beverage inside the air-conditioned bar area at one of several surrounding tables or at the koa U-shaped bar itself. Inside the bar area is the retail store, stocked with colorful T-shirts, hats, towels, coasters, mugs and much more.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good Beer Indifferent Service”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The food and beer were good, but the service left something to be desired. We had delicious fish tacos and four delicious beers brewed on the premises and all were fine. However, despite their being a visibly empty table the right size for us, we were kept waiting almost 20 minutes. As we were being seated, the hostess admitted that they were reluctant to sit us there because the waitress for that table was having trouble keeping up. She was pleasant, but not quick for sure. I might go back again, except I'll probably never return to the Big Island, as Kauai is a nicer Island.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,472
    1,738
    383
    78
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Get there early to go on a pub tour”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I thought we might be able to see a small exhibition at the brewery but if you can't get into one of the tours then it is just a restaurant. I enjoyed the food and the beer though. The brewery offers a couple of tours daily but you need to sign up for it in person you can't book them in advance.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice laid back place with pretty good beer & food”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Had lunch here recently. Nice local place that has the customer service experience down pat as evidenced by the staff.
Seated promptly and had menu's in hand while placing our drink orders - GREAT brewed Beers to be had and we DID!.
Pretty good menu - I had Cajun Shrimp Tacos, my friends had assorted plates and everyone reported their food was very tasty.
Good average prices & plenty of parking with Mongooses in the bushes looking for handouts!
Visit this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zhorshik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hip to good beer and food.”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

You can tell you are in a good place when you see the locals eating and drinking there, and that is the case here. Original brews and original and good food. Check it out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Choteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Has a lot of variety of beers”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This place was recommended by our
Zodiac crew. We tried a flight of their beers as they have so many on tap. They have a huge variety to choose from. We had a beer and lunch. The food was fair. The waitresses were vary helpful in trying to chose the right beer for our taste and the best food to suit our needs.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank macska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing