We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beer, great food”

Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery
Ranked #8 of 287 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The 2,000-square-foot outdoor lanai, surrounded by lush tropical vegetation and tiki torches, offers seating for 175 patrons. Customers also can enjoy a cool meal or beverage inside the air-conditioned bar area at one of several surrounding tables or at the koa U-shaped bar itself. Inside the bar area is the retail store, stocked with colorful T-shirts, hats, towels, coasters, mugs and much more.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great beer, great food”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stopped in a couple times during our stay. The food is always good, the beer is outstanding and even though it's not an ocean front place the atmosphere is still great. Beautiful garden seating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleRed_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,308
    1,643
    368
    73
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moorhead, MN
Level Contributor
183 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Best Pizza on the Island”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Definitely the best pizza we had on the island, and according to my seven year old, the second best pizza he has ever had in his life :-).

The pizza size and topping amounts were very generous. We overbought pizza not knowing that, and ended up taking a to-go box home with us of what amounted to a full pizza.

I had the fish tacos, which were very good. They were very accommodating to my food allergies, able to leave ingredients out and make substitutions.

Being a pub, I wasn't sure about it being family friendly, but it was. They had a children's menu which was quite substantial. My daughter had pizza roll ups, which looked almost like cinnamon rolls with pepperoni and cheese rolled up in them instead of cinnamon and sugar. She really enjoyed them.

I also enjoyed their free-refills on their Kona Coffee. It was excellent!

The outdoor seating was great for the gorgeous weather the day we were there, but there was also ample seating inside if the weather wasn't quite so nice.

We would highly recommend eating at Kona Brewing Company.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melissaMoorhead_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievable microbrew and food!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The pizza and fish tacos were very good - as well as the seasonal brews! I would highly recommend for all to visit while in Kona!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good place to catch a bite to eat and have a beer!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were on the Big Island for eight days. We ate here twice. If it wasn't for the 30 min drive from our resort, we probably would have been there more! Both times we had lunch- it was good, they have a good variety, offering pizzas, salads, sandwiches. We sat on the patio and were able to look at the Gecko's running up the trees (my four year old son loved that part)! We would highly recommend. The pricing is not bad either, you get a lot of food. I split my meals as they were that big!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank megan_colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Ate here with a group of 6. The wings were great. Service a bit slow and had to wait about 35 minutes to be seated, but hey--that's 35 more minutes to sit and enjoy their beer.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mavpav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing