We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza and beer”

Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery
Ranked #8 of 287 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The 2,000-square-foot outdoor lanai, surrounded by lush tropical vegetation and tiki torches, offers seating for 175 patrons. Customers also can enjoy a cool meal or beverage inside the air-conditioned bar area at one of several surrounding tables or at the koa U-shaped bar itself. Inside the bar area is the retail store, stocked with colorful T-shirts, hats, towels, coasters, mugs and much more.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great pizza and beer”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

All we tried was the chicken bacon ranch pizza and it was very good. Great crust. Will go back anytime I'm in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt2686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,319
    1,644
    368
    73
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Beers”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a lot of fun sampling some of the brews. My husband and I both found one we loved. Our only disappoint was why aren't the local restaurants carrying their beers? Once we found one we liked unless we went back to the brewing company you couldn't get them.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CanadaAdab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good bar food, better beer”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Ate there 2 times in 1 week because it we wanted to try the pizza the next day. Overall, a good experience. We tried a couple of salads - good, pizza - great, fish tacos and pork tacos - great. It seems crowded all the time, but we never had to wait long for service or food. It looks like locals and tourists love this place, based on the crowd.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank glmullar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Menu at Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was impressed with the selection on the menu although pizzas do seem to be their specialty (after beer of course!). The location is kind of weird and there is no view. That aside everything else about the Kona Brewery is fun and very family friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PacNWMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere; Incredible Food & Service”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We've liked drinking Kona beer for some time, and looked forward to seeing the brewery where it started. It's location, near the harbor in Kailua-Kona, is convenient with lots of parking nearby. The place is funky, with a nice island atmosphere. There is an awesome turtle sculpture that you should look for. The food is terrific. We had the fish tacos (hebi was the fish of the day) and a pepperoni pizza with crab cakes as an appetizer. Beer, of course, is fabulous, and you can also drink some other interesting drinks. I recommend the Gingerade.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing