We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”
Review of Kanaka Kava

Kanaka Kava
Ranked #81 of 290 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Brescia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Lovely place, very nice welcome, spectacular food, good prices.. what do you need more? I suggest the plate with three samples.. Kalua Pork, octopus and seafood (i added a picture of it)... My favourite was Kalua Pork, I never ate something like that before.. Congratulation to the staff, You were a wonderful surprise during our honeymoon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matteo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    13
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We fell in love with Hawaiian food. We anted something local and laid back for dinner and this fit the bill perfectly. Didn't know what to order, so we asked the people at the next table who made recommendations and shared a coconut full of kava.... we had a sample plate which was basically a luau on a plate... poke, pork, taro in coconut milk, purple sweet potatoes, squid- one plate is enough for two to share. And do not leave without a slice of the sweet potato pie- amazing! purple potatoes(of course) with cocoanut creme on top. YUM!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RNSNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We discovered this place thanks to Lonely place guide, was signed as TOP. And now we know why!
This place is perfect to taste the authentic hawaian food.
The ingredients are fresh and natural and a kind lady suggests you the better dishes to choose if you are hungry with no idea.
We choose 2 dishes with seafoods and 4 sides 2 kavas and 2 coconut water delicious! and we spent only 53dollars.
The place is really well known by local people. it's a little bit hidden and so no turistic.
there you can taste the tipical energic drink kana...not so good but really healty.

Please go and share!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vivix2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Real Hawaii”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Serves authentic Hawaiian food, in a take out setting. The few tables there were occupied by locals, all enjoying the kava, which they served by dipping into a big punch bowl on the counter. Really good plates!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank laurel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“delicious food”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Mmmmm....Loved this place. We went for mom's 60th birthday, just her, my brother and I. The vibes were great, everyone was super nice. I get the feeling it's more of a local hangout than for the tourists. I ordered the tofu plate with sweet potatoes and taro. The tofu was cooked brilliantly, with a very delicious teriyaki-garlic sauce. Mom and brother shared the fish plate and said it was delicious. We finished off with a sweet potato pie and the staff brought out a happy birthday sign and a candle for the pie. We were treated very well and the food was delicious. The place is tiny, so you might have to squish in. We ate around 4 or 5 pm and had no problem.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 55711Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanaka Kava also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kanaka Kava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing