We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring break 3/14”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cartwright
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Spring break 3/14”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is an older resort but very classic. The units have been updated and are EXTREMELY quiet. I absolutely logs the location and spent hours on the rocks in front of the pools. The only real complaint I had was the annoying ceiling fan that kept tapping on something. We tried to leave it off but had to have the air circulating so tried to ignore it. Otherwise is a great deal for the money.
We did not attend the time share meeting. There's only so many times you can get 'updated'!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolHanna, General Manager at Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review on our property, the Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff. I'm so pleased that you liked our renovated units - we have only the 16 ocean front units to go and we'll have renovated 100%. I'll bet that you enjoyed some fun "whale shows" right here in front of the property!! I'm sorry for the unbalanced ceiling fan and I hope you had a chance to let us know about that while you were here. We have four very talented maintenance men dedicated to our Wyndham units and they can fix anything!!

Mahalo and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    126
    27
    12
    4
See reviews for
112
113
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

A friend invited me along to enjoy her time share, we had a great time here very clean and low key, and with a 2 bedroom condo I enjoyed my privacy but wish they would have had some resources for the better places to buy staples while we where there, no information! The best place to eat was Outback, down the street, the street bars have more local flavor after going to a Tour of the upper farms, and dinner cruise and a Luau and eating at the local restaurants! We where ready for some good food without the Hawaiian culture, found the Target store on the way back north one day what a great super store, and the restaurant in that area where must better, I would suggest renting a car on this island to get around since driving is easy and traffic is light, Views are beautiful when going to the pool area, it would be hard for everyone to get a ocean view, so unless you are willing to pay the big $$$ then I suggest you drive around and enjoy the views, they are everywhere Enjoy!

Room Tip: No room service, no restaurants on site, in fact nothing except venting machines, everything has to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolHanna, General Manager at Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Aloha! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for the Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff Resort in Kailua-Kona, Hawaii. You are spot on when you say that there are views everywhere - I think that watching the sunset from either of our ocean front swimming pools is one of those special moments that should remain in your memory for years to come!

I am so sorry that you felt there wasn't sufficient information regarding the variety of stores and shopping options here in Kailua-Kona. If you have the opportunity to return, I hope that you will have some time to chat with our Guest Guides (concierge) regarding all of the "normal" places to buy your staples for the week - as well as all of the stores with more local flavor.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again at the Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernalillo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
206 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Summary
Wow! What a lovely resort! The architecture puts me in mind of the Greek Isles, and the friendly staff offer not only hospitality but a wide range of activities and events each week. The seaside location brings spectacular sunset views, while two pools offer both boisterous fun and a quiet place to read and take in the sun. The newly renovated units are comfortable, as secluded as you could want, and fully equipped with all the modern conveniences. We highly recommend Royal Sea Cliff.

Unit Features
Royal Sea Cliff is a combination resort, with 76 of its 150 units in a timeshare pool managed by Wyndham, and 74 under individual full ownership. Our timeshare exchange was a 2BR, 2BA unit on the fourth floor (of seven). The baths were each attached to a BR, so anyone sleeping on the pullout sofa would have to go through a BR in order to use them. That’s the only potential drawback I saw, and then only if the unit was filled to capacity with 6 people. The master BR boasts a king-size bed, while the 2nd BR has a queen-sized unit in a somewhat smaller space. Both BRs and the LR had modern, flat-panel TVs, although only a few channels on the cable system were offered in HD. The DVD player did double duty as an AM/FM receiver also. A mini-washer-dryer combination resides in a closet in the master bath.

Both the master BR and LR have sliding glass doors that open to a balcony that holds a spacious 4-person table and chairs. The LR is slightly smaller than some we’ve seen, but eminently usable in conjunction with the balcony. Another dining table for 4 is located in a corner of the LR.

The full kitchen has all the usual appliances, plus a dedicated rice cooker, the first I’ve seen in a timeshare. An adequate battery of pots and pans was of good quality, and the Henckels International knife set was, pardon the pun, a cut above the usual timeshare junk. Dishware was near-new and pleasantly designed as well.

Condition of Unit and Property
Our unit appeared newly renovated, with granite countertops and near-new looking furniture and equipment. The resort was impeccably maintained. Our only maintenance call (for a showerhead with a broken adjusting tab) was answered promptly and effectively the same day. Landscape workers were in evidence each day, and an evident remodeling project in one unit was effectively contained and very unobtrusive.

Any problems encountered such as check-in problems, room changes, etc.
None. Unusually, we were offered our pick of two units and the chance to inspect each one before choosing.

Planned Resort Activities such as welcome parties, barbecues, kid programs, and outings
Since we had been in the same area the week before, I skipped the orientation meeting, although my wife attended. The resort offered a Hawaiian welcome party, with samples of Island cuisine (including delicious “Kalua pork”) and a hula demonstration by a group of both learning and accomplished dancers.

Resort Amenities
Both pools were clean and neat, with new tables, chairs and chaises. Both pools front the ocean and it was easy to get over the seawall and marvel at the lava rock patterns at the actual water’s edge. One BBQ grill located at the smaller “quiet” pool seemed to suffice for the whole resort, although there may have been a second one at the other pool. Parking is available both under the main building and adjacent to each of several levels off the main under-building space. A tennis court was tucked into one corner of the property, and a ping-pong table sat next in the main “lobby” space, which was open to the wind and stars on two sides.

Staff Friendliness and Responsiveness
The staff was friendly, responsive and very attentive throughout our stay.

Convenience to Area Attractions
The resort is located about halfway between the “downtown” areas of Kailua and Keahoue. A large number of restaurants and several grocery stores are nearby. (I liked the Kailua “Sack-n-Save” store the best.) Several public beaches are located further toward Keahoue, but this area does not have extensive sand beaches. Most oceanfront in the area is solid lava from old volcanic eruptions. Water shoes are recommended, and you’ll need to watch out for any unusual waves that could pound you into the lava. The resort is about 9 miles from the airport, and over 90 miles from Volcanoes National Park, making a rental car a very good idea. Taxis are expensive.

Additional fees assessed
There was a local timeshare occupancy tax of $7.50 per night levied at checkout.

Suitability of Resort for couples, families, relaxing, partying, etc.
Hearty partiers will want to go elsewhere. The resort enforces rules on the number of guests in a unit, and also quiet hours that begin at 10 PM. Roisterers are first remonstrated with, then ejected. We found Royal Sea Cliff a relaxing, quiet, comfortable base for our week of island touring and sightseeing. Our 2BR unit would be good for a small family, less so for a large one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with at least some ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolHanna, General Manager at Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Mahalo for taking the time to write such a glowing, thorough, detailed review for the Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff Resort!! The only thing I can add is that we actually do have a total of three BBQ areas - there are two grills at the South pool; one that you mentioned at the Quiet pool; and one more that is on the north side about mid-resort, close to unit 326.

Thank you so much and I hope that all future visitors read your review as they will know exactly what to expect when they get here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We rented a 2 bedroom condo for 7 nights. Since we aren't Wyndham "members" we got an OK unit with a fairly poor view of the ocean. Clean, but dated. The reason we won't be back is because of the aggressive time share folks. After we checked in and provided the front desk with our car license info, we were told to go to another desk to get our parking pass.Knowing this was the timeshare desk from reading reviews, and since there was a line, we just went to our unit. The phone calls then started. After two that night, and one at 7:30am the next morning we went to get our parking pass. We were asked to fill out another sheet, including our address and date of birth. I left that blank and asked for my parking pass, after telling the salesman I wasn't interested in a timeshare presentation. After getting the pass, I hoped that I wouldn't be contacted again. Got one more phone call, and two notices that were placed INSIDE our unit by the door, once while we were sleeping. Clearly someone had to open the door to put the notices in. So much for privacy! OK place but I won't be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors if you want a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolHanna, General Manager at Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Aloha and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for the Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff. It is very true that we average 96% occupancy during the peak season of January, February, and March and we have only 18 units out of our 76 Wyndham units that have an ocean view or are ocean front; therefore, many of our guests have limited views. Please be assured that we want all of our guests regardless of the source of the reservation to have a wonderful experience here!

Our Guest Guides are not typically that aggressive and it sounds like they must have had a communication issue.for which I must apologize. I will certainly share your comments with the staff as we always want to make your vacation experience our highest priority.

Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your comments so that we may improve. If you do decide to visit us again, I hope that you will reach out to me in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Great resort. When we first arrived we thought it looked a little like an old hotel building, but on second look the grounds really are beautiful. But what really makes this resort is the staff. Never and I do mean never in any of our world travels have we been treated as well as at this resort. The staff goes above and beyond from the maintenance crew, house keeping, front desk and concierge desk, which really is a concierge desk, just not a time share scam, which most RCI property's have. Our family of 5 had a 2 bedroom handicapped unit which was big, clean and fit our needs perfectly. Book this resort you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pamlh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed for two weeks at this resort and thought it was wonderful,units have plenty of room, we were in a two bedroom unit, each with its own bath. Close enough to downtown but far enough to be quiet. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Trolley car stops right outside the resort so easy to get around if you don't rent a car.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hd56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
252 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is our second stay at Royal Sea Cliff and we would stay again! The 1 bedroom we had was quite, well appointed having been just redecorated. There is no beach - the shore is quite rocky - but there are two pools including a quiet pool and a whirlpool. Many but not all rooms have an ocean view - if you have the choice ask for a room on a upper floor with a full ocean view. Most of the rooms also have a terrace, there are only a couple of 2br units with HUGE terraces facing the ocean - again ask for them if you have the chance. Also, the facility is right on Alii Drive which leads right into Kailua, about 1 mile away from the beach from where the Ironman kicks off. There are lots of restaurants and shops along this road especially as you get closer to town. It was close enough to have easy access to the restaurants without being in the middle of the tourist crowd. Only down side is that there is no fitness center - but it was easy to walk,run or bike along Alii drive and you will have plenty of company. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: if you have the choice ask for a room on a upper floor with a full ocean view. Most of the rooms al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nomad0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
#3 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
#8 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff

Property: Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff
Address: 75-6040 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Wyndham
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing