We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed hte Wyndam Royal Sea Cliff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyed hte Wyndam Royal Sea Cliff”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed the week of April 22 in a 2 bedroom. The room was recently updated and was very nice. The a/c did not work for us the first night, we called the front desk and they sent someone out to repair it.
We had a small view of the ocean, but we did not stay there that much with all the activities on the island. When you leave the sliding door open, it brings in alot of humdity and floors get wet. All in all it was a good place to stay and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boothib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    129
    27
    12
    4
See reviews for
114
114
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Welcome to Kona's noisiest and ugliest Hotel. Lawn mowing starts right after sunrise at 6:45 a.m. and continues throughout the day. Many units are currently under construction, so you can enjoy tile cutting and hammering, in case you missed that. Evenings are rounded up by groups of people chatting on the patios. Night is over at 4:30 a.m. as they start emptying their trash cans then.
Staff is ok as long as you do not complain. If you do, they glance at you like, hey, what are you even talking about? They just shrug you off.
The entire building is ugly, ugly, ugly. I wonder how they managed to get all this concrete to the island.
If you ever wanted to know how vacation feels like in a Communist country, the Royal Sea Cliff is something for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hillary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Pros- Nice clean, quiet and spacious 2/2 unit that provided plenty of space for four. It was listed as a garden view room, but it actually had a great partial ocean view. Also nice that it sat well off of Ali'i drive, which can be very noisy. Easy 1mile walk to the South end of Kailua with numerous restaurants and nightlife. Grounds, pool, and BBQ area were very well maintained. Staff is very friendly and helpful. This is a mixed use property with some privately owned units and some privately owned.

Cons- our room (and the property in general) was dated, but very functional. Kitchen was equipped with only the bare essentials. Limited amenities. They did not have our reservation in their system when we checked in, but luckily then had one unit available. Not sure what would have happened if they didn't. Expect the typical full court timeshare press when you check in. Pro or con -- first part of the week, the place was dominated by the geriatric set. However, by the weekend, a few families started to arrive.

Room Tip: I would call the property directly to make sure they have your reservation. Property is built on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Koa-sfo-lih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom with 3 couples, all in our late 20s. The renovated units were great: granite countertops, 3 big TVs, good sound system, great beds, stylish "flourishes" (artwork, curtains, etc.). I would say the unit was as well decorated as any Marriott or Hilton timeshare I have stayed in. Our room had a partial ocean view and was about a 3 minute walk to the pool. Also, the facilities were clean and the staff was friendly. The resort was surprisingly uncrowded (a positive for us), and I would definitely stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Call ahead to make sure you get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travel83HP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have stayed in many Wyndham resorts and although this one is not the newest it is by far our favorite! It's worth staying here just so you can enjoy the best Kona sunsets ever! The units are older but well maintained and the grounds are immaculate! The inner area with flowing waterfalls and lush plants are such a wonderful experience. Being right on the ocean is the best feature of all. We love the Big Island and we love Royal Sea Cliff resort!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveldivaaficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Royal Sea Cliff. Four adults shared a 2 bedroom condo which was spacious enough to not have us tripping over each other. Each bedroom had it's own bathroom, the kitchen is large and useful, although one drawer would only open if you had the oven door open which gave us a laugh. The balcony is large and we often sat out there to have our breakfast.

Each bedroom also has a TV as well as the living room.

The rooms were clean and well maintained, service was great no matter who we talked to at the facility, and the one evening entertainment that we attended included plenty of food and some great local music as well as a hula demonstration and amazing views of the ocean and the sunset.

The Royal Sea Cliff does not have a restaurant, and the shopping/eating/tourist area is close enough to walk, but it'll still be a mile or a bit more down there. Something to be aware of if you're not planning to rent a car.

The beds were comfy, but the room we had had windows that opened onto the resort's hallway which left us unable to sleep with the windows open. Which was fine as it was air conditioned.

Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wadingmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Exchanged a timeshare week to stay here in Feb 2013. We were given a 2BR, 2BA unit with oceanview. It also overlooked the pool. We arrived on a late flight and check-in was very quick. The unit was very spacious. The only downside was that it was a bit musty. I am very sensitive to this condition but it didn't seem to be a problem during the period we were there. The staff was very helpful, especially the concierge when it came to planning activities. I was concerned about what to do while on the Big Island, but we stayed very busy with snorkeling, whale watching, shopping, eating, waterfall chasing, luau, and volcano climbing. We rented a van and drove around the island in 12 hours, but that included stops at the scenic overlooks, bakery in Punalu'u, black sand beach, shopping in Hilo, and stops at three waterfalls. We walked to Kailua-Kona twice. It's only a 20 minute walk and has many nice shops and restaurants. We vacation 2-3 times a year and this was our best vacation yet!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BizTraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.7 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
#3 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
765 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff

Property: Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff
Address: 75-6040 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Wyndham
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing