We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We recently returned from Kona on the big island, and would recommend it to anyone! I have been to Maui as well, and will go back to Kona in a heartbeat over Maui. The Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff was our resort, and we had room 309. They told us at the desk it was not oceanview, but we could see the ocean from our balcony. The room was huge, and suited our two girls ages 3 & 4 perfectly.They had their own bathroom as it was a full two bedroom suite. Huge lanai off the living room, and bedroom, and room was updated and met all of our needs. The night life nearby was great as we were there over New Years Eve and found many places to eat, shop, and sightsee. We went up the highway to the volcano which was neat, but on the long 2.5 hour drive up on the windy road makes for carsick kids. Saw steamvents etc up top, and the crater, but no lava flow. Only way to see that is to do the helicopter ride. Neat though. The beaches nearby were good, but rocky. There are a couple within a 10 minute drive. No restaurant at the resort, but the kitchenette served us well. Housekeeping was great as they came on their own 2-3 times during our week stay to replace towels etc. The sales desk downstairs is a bit pushy, telling us they could get better deals on things everywhere when I found online even cheaper than they were offering, and they needed us to take a 2 hour "tour" of the Wyndham resorts. Beautiful pool view of the rocky beach, and the surf could easily be heard through our open balcony doors overnight =) Great stay!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for oceanview or oceanfront as ones far away are a long walk to pools etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 304 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were there the first week of January 2013. The 2 bedroom we got had been remodeled and was nice and very big. We had choice of partial sea view or remodeled and chose remodeled.
Facility well kept and everyone was delightful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Utravelingmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom right above the pool with an ocean view. The staff was courteous. Various activities that were interesting. One pool was closed for half of our trip but the other pool was adequate. Sunsets were amazing every night. Nice facilities.
We had no issues with timeshare sales people.

Room Tip: ask for a room over the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed as a family of 12 renting 3 condos over New Years 2012/13. 2 of the 3 condos had been updated and were spectacular. The third while still original décor was still very nice and as a plus it had the ocean view. Overall a great resort with no issues from timeshare sales as stated in previous reviews. Pools were well maintained and swimming beaches very close.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Spent 4 nights at the SeaCliff, and really enjoyed it. The location is perfect. We were able to easily walk into Kona and shop at the farmers market. We had a one bedroom, full kitchen unit with a partial ocean view. The units are individually owned, ours was a little sparcely decorated, and the bed was not comfortable. But, a call to housekeeping got us a foam egg crate which helped alot.The pool location cannot be beat, it is so close to the ocean you can hear the waves, and during our time there it was always quiet. We kept checking the website and were able to get an awesome rate for our stay. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The staff at the Royal Sea Cliff Resort in Kailua-Kona on the Big Island of Hawai'i goes out of their way to ensure that all guests are happy. There are activities planned most every day from movie night around the South pool to lei making classes. The property is very clean, and quiet. Underground parking is convenient too. We really enjoyed seeing and hearing the waves crashing onto the shore and witnessing those famous Hawaiian sunsets from our balconies. The 2-bedroom units are comfortable with a King size bed in one bedroom and a Queen size bed in the other bedroom. The Living Room and Dining area are combined adjacent to the fully-equiped kitchen. All of this and a short walk into the historic village of Kailua makes staying at this property a wise choice.

Room Tip: Room 310 has an unobstructed view of the South pool and ocean beyond that to enjoy those Hawaiian su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised that this is such a nice place. We had a one bedroom condo with a large living room/small dining area, full kitchen, washer/dryer, large outdoor patio with an ocean view. The condo has ceiling fans and air conditioning. It was like living in your own contemporary condo. It is located about 5 to 10 minutes by car from all amenities. We had a rental car and found this place to be a great location. Very nice staff. We appreciated that the staff gave us space and did not pressure us to attend any timeshare events. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kauai20101017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
#3 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
802 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,962 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff

Address: 75-6040 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $199 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff Hotel Kailua-Kona
Wyndham Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Wyndham
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing