We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Condo 4-204 is Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club
Save
You added Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   78-6800 Alii Dr #25, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco Bay area
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Condo 4-204 is Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Walking into this condo, we were amazed at the beautiful ocean views.This condo is an end unit so the windows and outside deck are on two sides taking advantage of the incredible views! It is located right on the ocean so there was always a breeze. I worried that it would be hot since there is no AC, but it never got hot inside with the constant breeze. There are two bedrooms and it is nicely furnished. The bathrooms and kitchen could be updated but that didn't matter since the location is so good. The place was quiet too. We never heard any neighbors. The resort itself is well maintained and has very nice landscaping. It is gated so you need a code to enter the resort. We used the pool which was warm and never crowded. For the reasonable rate and the beautiful ocean view we would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Choose an end unit so you will have decks and windows on two sides.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank N0rCalfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Since these are CONDOS, there is considerable variation in how the individual owners have or have not maintained their respective apartments. 2-302 lacked AC and felt a bit dated, but did the job fine for us. 2-102 had a cleaner feel to it, and 3-303 has been given a stunningly-designed remodel. Best feature of location is that it's only a couple minutes' drive to Kahaluu Beach for snorkeling. Also well-positioned for the somewhat longer drive for snorkeling at Hoonaunau Bay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Ipu-wer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Excellent vacation stay starting with Sandy and her providing useful info and recommendations prior to our arrival. We have visited Hawaii many times but always stayed at resort hotels. First experience renting a condo and highly recommend it. Better value and we found ourselves leaving the grounds far more often. The Keauhou Surf and Racquet Club has a great location near snorkeling and surfing beaches, easy shopping at Keauhou Center just up the street, short drive to Kona village. Plenty of space (2 adults, 1 teenager). Gets hot and stuffy when out but open up windows and doors and the winds make it comfortable quickly. Condo had everything we needed. Carpet a little tired, bed in master a little soft, but not a big deal. Great views. Great ocean sounds. Plenty of activities on site; pool and tennis courts never crowded. Grounds well cared for and peaceful. Most enjoyed visits to Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden in Papaikou, surfing lessons with Austin (Kona Surf Co) at Kahalu'u Beach (10 minute walk, out the gate, turn left), great snorkeling at same beach, fabulous dinner in Honualoa (not best suited for kids under 10; slow service and fancy menu, world class cooking using only local, very fresh ingredients). Highly recommend Sandy at Kona101 and this unit at this club. Looking forward to coming back next year.

Room Tip: Our unit was top (3rd) floor so noise was not an issue. Overall, this club was remarkably quiet dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This townhouse was perfect for our family of five (2 adults, 3 teenage children). We felt immediately at home in this clean, well furnished and well equipped condo. The unit is bright and cheery, flooded with natural light, ocean breezes and the sound of the surf. So much so that we felt more in touch with the Hawaiian environment than in any other place we stayed on our two week trip to the islands. It's almost like we were spending our time outdoors, but without the hassles of camping. Maybe this was enhanced by the fact that we watched sea turtles feeding and a monk seal sunbathing from the master bedroom window. Booking and accessing the condo couldn't have been easier - Sandy is a gracious host. My highest recommendations for this unit. It exceeded our expectations. Thanks Sandy!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waikiki-tiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Darby, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We totally enjoyed our stay in Unit #1-303. The ocean breezes, the beautiful views, the birds that would visit us in the morning on the lanai, the rainbow we were lucky to capture. It suited us perfect, family of five adults, we had plenty of room. We were also close to the market and a quaint little shopping center took care of all of our needs. We also enjoyed the pool and the near by beaches. I would highly recommend this Unit for your stay. We are looking forward to a return trip. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa Valley ,CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

If only I had found some reviews of unit 2-203 that were somewhat more objective, we would have been saved a somewhat unpleasant vacation experience - so, to that effect, here goes.

Yes, the view from the lanai is "heavenly" and the grounds of the complex are like "paradise", but this particular unit falls somewhat short of Eden. We've previously had great experiences at the Keauhou S&R, so perhaps we were spoiled by our earlier accomodations which were nicely appointed and well stocked with condiments, spices, oils, cleaning supplies, & bathroom soap/shampoo dispensers. Unit 2-203 had a half eaten jar of peanut butter. Oh yes, and some bread crumbs. (We know that the units are not required to provide these items - just making a comparison). Any price advantage that this unit may offer will quickly be given up at the local stores due to the meager stock of the kitchen & baths. In addition, the fridge has no icemaker, the stove is of the old exposed electric coil type, the cabinetry is poor, bath & kitchen fixtures are really cheap (35 years experience in the trade. I see posts stating that this unit has been remodeled - Wow, I don't know where one can get this stuff outside of a second hand store), and the cooking utensils are a haphazard collection of items that make it difficult for a novice such as myself to prepare a decent meal. One definitely gets the feeling that the owner is offering the bare minimum that they can get away with and still pull in the bucks. Another, and worse, issue during our stay was the noise from above. I understand that this is not necessarily a fault of unit 2-203, but we had not encountered this problem before at KSRC; perhaps the unit above (2-303) is not carpeted - every footstep, every dropped object, every dragged chair is amplified through the floor into 2-203. If you are as unfortunate as we were to have a full house above you starting their days at 5AM, unless you're a heavy sleeper, you also will be starting your vacation days at 5AM. After one particularly jarring awakening, we tried contacting the owner for advice in saving our vacation - no reply. The local contact returned our call late the following day and mentioned something about talking to the folks upstairs, but the fact is that the people above were, for the most part, not doing anything abnormal; these were just the normal sounds of living raining down upon us. There were no pleasant evenings on the lanai for us on this trip; in fact we made every excuse to stay away from the room that we could: going back just did not seem attractive at all. Our experience with unit 2-203 has made us decide that it is too risky to stay at KSRC - if you end up in a bad situation, the only remedy is to forfeit your payment and go elsewhere. Over the years we've had many enjoyable trips to Hawaii; Unit 2-203 made us, for the first time, somewhat glad to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
16 Thank Kongpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

After an anniversary cruise (2011) around the Hawaiian islands, hubby and I fell in love with the Big Island! So we decided to go back and explore everything Madame Pele has to offer. I researched hotels, resorts, vacation houses, but ultimately decided on a condo. I particularly liked all the amenities of the Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club. And how much better can it get having your condo literally feet from the ocean. We used Aoha Condos and decidede on unit 1-203. Thor is the owner of this condo and he was awesome! The condo was a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom on the second floor. Incredible views from the lanai. Hubby and I slept with the sliding glass door open everynight to listen to the water. So relaxing. Never slept so good. We started our mornings watching for dolphins and every evening watching the sunset. The condo was well furnished with everything we needed. Kitchen fully stocked. There was also snorkel masks, boogie boards, binoculars etc for use. It was a nice quiet condo, but was still only a 10 minute drive to the main happenings of Kona. It was the perfect home base for our week long adventure all around that island!!! If I am a lucky woman, I will be back and I will try and get this condo again :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
5.1 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#6 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
17.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
0.5 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#15 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club

Address: 78-6800 Alii Dr #25, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: The Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club Resort is a 4-star resort located in Keauhou on the sunny Kona Coast of the Big Island, Hawaii. The resort is adjacent to a sandy beach and was once the residence of four Hawaiian kings including the Great King Kamehameha. There are 197 privately-owned units at the resort with 77 townhouses and 120 condos with some beachfront and many oceanfront units along with ocean and fairway view condos. Townhouse #48 is a charming yet elegant condo situated in the Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club only steps from the beautiful Kona beaches. The condo is stocked with everything you need to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keauhou Kona Surf And Racquet Club Hotel Kailua-Kona
Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing