We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unit 7-103. Disgustingly dirty!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club
Port Moody, BC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unit 7-103. Disgustingly dirty!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We just stayed in Unit 7-103. OMG! I can't understand how anyone can rent out such a filthy unit. Upon arrival we found dead roaches, dirty sheets, stained carpets, and a bug infested kitchen. This unit was so bad we never felt comfortable walking in bare feet. The kitchen had cheap Corel dishes, mismatched utensils, cracked tile countertops and broken drawers. There is a serious infestation of small black bugs which continually run all over the counters.
No air conditioning, smelly couches, broken carpet/tile transition, ill-fitting screen doors, broken hide-a-bed... the list goes on. We complained about the bedding on the pull-out as it had crumbs and dead bugs in it. The maids came the next day while we were out and put the same dirty sheets back on, picked up portions of the dead cock-roaches and left.
I would not stay in this unit if it was free, or for that matter if the owners paid me to. It appears there have been no upgrades since the building was built.
The outside amenities are adequate. The pool is old and the barbeques limited. There is no swimmable beach access from this complex.
To be fair, I know others who stayed at this complex in a waterfront condo unit who were very happy, but as far as this unit goes. BEWARE.
K Nelson

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    95
    34
    17
    11
See reviews for
215
130
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
196 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We just stayed a week in unit 2-104 and had a great trip. We had two bedrooms, 2 full baths, full kitchen and dining room and a great lanai on the ground level. Parking was assigned and very close and the breezes through the apt made it clear why A/C is not needed. We never lacked anything from enough dishes to laundry soap to beach chairs and ice. Every appliance was clean and well kept and the furniture was comfy after a long day. With a west-facing apt and no obstructions between us and the water we watched terrific sunsets every night from the lanai. Our only challenge was with the screen doors, but wouldn't you know, Steve already had them slated for replacement this week. Steve was very easy to work with, left us clear but not micromanaging instructions and the week went off without a hitch. We had a car and thought the location was great b/c you could hope on the belt road or Ali'i drive just out of the club; the grocery store is about 300 yards up the hill; and a great beach and snorkeling spot was also about 300 yards away. We would go back in a heartbeat for the location, price, and ease of the whole process.

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper or sleep late, be sure you close the windows in the front room on M-W-F a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie_B_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The condo is right on the shore! My wife and I had breakfasts on the lanai with the ocean waves breaking right below.

The condo is well kept and everything is in working condition, though some appliances show age and could be updated.

The furniture is rich and authentic looking. The unit has plenty of storage space.

The beds/mattresses are good, but too soft for my personal taste.

The condo has two bedrooms upstairs: master with king bed and second bedroom with 2 small beds. The master bedroom windows are looking to the ocean, so it’s get rather loud from the waves breaking, but this kind of noise can be soothing, depending on your mood and perception. The second bedroom is much quieter.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This Condo was brilliant. We stayed in Building 6 room 301. It was huge, it had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, living area, kitchen and porch (Lanai). Great value for money right on the ocean. However, you will need a car as it's about 4 miles down to the shopping / restaurant strip of Alii drive. Our only problem was that the toilet broke!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheyneSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in unit 1-202 at the Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club. We were very delighted with this wonderful oceanfront unit on the second floor which is just like on the pictures at “http://www.alohacondos.com/bigisland/keauhou-kona-surf-and-racquet-club/1-202”. We spent a lot of time on the lanai which is just a few yards away from the shore. An unbeatable view with privacy! One night, we were watching the sunset on the lanai and were so thrilled to see whales. The unit was clean and nicely decorated. The kitchen is well stocked. The beds are very comfortable. No A/C but leave the windows open and the fans on and it is perfect. It was so nice to have boogie boards, tennis racquets, snorkeling gears, beach towels. There is a washer/dryer, TV, wifi,... everything you might need. Booking the unit was easy and without any problems. The keys were waiting for us in a box outside the door.
We really like the resort that is very quiet. The resort has beautiful gardens. We were a little bit disappointed by the size of the pool but great for kids. There are 3 tennis courts. Kahaluu beach is at walking distance of the resort. It is a great beach for snorkeling. The closer to the shore, the more fishes you see and turtles! Magic sand beach a bit more north (not walking distance) has big waves, great for boogie boarding. The resort is also close to the Keauhou shopping center. It is also at walking distance if you don’t mind a slope. It is a short drive to Kailua-Kona. It is a 2 hour drive to the volcano national park.
We really enjoyed our stay and recommend this unit at the Keaukou Kona Surf and Racquet club. We hope we’ll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belgoseattleite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1,110 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Booked online and as others have mentioned, Sandy is very accommodating. What you'll love, is the view and proximity to the water. Great opportunity to explore tide pools, but as others have mentioned not a swimming beach. The local shopping center is close and convenient with lots of restaurants. After exploring the big island, I'm glad I made Kona my home base. You can easily access lots of activities from this location. I just wish the beach out front was a swimming beach.

Others have mentioned the concern over AC and I was skeptical at first but with the ceiling fans and oscillating fans the townhouse was very comfortable.

My only gripes are the notes/warnings put on everything and the laundry situation. I understand there are rules but a single intro letter emailed and signed off by renter as well as a spare copy left as reminder at check in would be fine. Seemed to cheapen the vibe like I'm at a Motel 6. The note about being charged $25 for leaving more than two loads but reading the note you can only do the king sheets or twin sheets by itself requires you to do laundry before you leave or face a $25 security deposit reduction.

Would recommend this rental to any small family.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Edelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was a very nice, well laid condo. We are a couple with four teenagers (two boys, two girls) from 17 to 14 years old. We had one bedroom for girls, one for the boys and one for us. Two bathroom, one large lanai where we had meals everyday.
The condo is conveniently located ( less than 1 mile) closed to a grocery store, pharmacy, movie theater, and main highways (still far enough that it is very quiet).

We were surrounded by beautiful birds, flowers, the ocean were you could see the sunset and many large turtles... everything was great.
Would recommend it anythime and would go again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilou777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
5.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#2 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.5 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#9 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club

Property: Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club
Address: 78-6800 Alii Dr Apt 25, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-4401
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: The Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club Resort is a 4-star resort located in Keauhou on the sunny Kona Coast of the Big Island, Hawaii. The resort is adjacent to a sandy beach and was once the residence of four Hawaiian kings including the Great King Kamehameha. There are 197 privately-owned units at the resort with 77 townhouses and 120 condos with some beachfront and many oceanfront units along with ocean and fairway view condos. Townhouse #48 is a charming yet elegant condo situated in the Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club only steps from the beautiful Kona beaches. The condo is stocked with everything you need to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keauhou Kona Surf And Racquet Club Hotel Kailua-Kona
Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing