We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great time in spacious, comfortable, clean condo 2-102” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club
Save
You added Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club to your Saves list
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great time in spacious, comfortable, clean condo 2-102”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We enjoyed a relaxing week in the off season (early December 2012) in this comfortable ground floor condo.Lovely ocean front location with great views (no swimming directly from condo). Condo was clean and spacious, and in a great location to explore different parts of the island. When we were not on the road we enjoyed sitting on the lanai and watching the ocean and the wonderful sunsets. A very nice swimming and snorkeling beach is close by on Alii Drive. Beach towels, matts, snorkels, flippers and other things left by previous vacationers are very convenient.
Very noise sensitive people might be bothered by hearing neighbors upstairs walk or children run. We didn't mind. As other reviewers mentioned, the dishwasher needs upgrading, some racks are broken and rusty.
The complex is very nice, well maintained and spacious with tennis courts and a good sized pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank serca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    92
    30
    16
    13
See reviews for
207
127
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I loved staying at this property. The 2 BR/2BA townhome is in an ideal location - an end unit with a view of the ocean (sits one property behind ocean front). Beautiful grounds very well maintained with gated entry. Swimming pool, tennis courts, close to shopping mall for convenience. Very quiet complex, hear the waves crashing and the birds chirping. Immaculate townhome providing all the necessites to make your stay perfect. Full kitchen, washer and dryer, spacious bedrooms. Rental group is very concerned that everything is perfect for your stay. #59 is extrememly comfortable and has southern and western views. Spent hours on the lania watching sunsets, eating, and playing games. Very nice people in this complex as well. Contact sandy@kona101.com to book. Very popular unit so book early! (I've already booked my time for nextr year.) Staying here was so much better than a hotel for the same price.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank myvacation07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Would stay again. Beautiful, clean, well maintained and well appointed home in quiet gated community. Unit 2 is about 10 ft from the water. You could stay there all day, walk a few minutes to an area where you can easily get in the water, or drive to nearby beaches. Really liked the tile floors and fans. Liked hearing the ocean at night from the master bedroom. You have your own assigned parking space. Plenty of surf boards/snorkel gear/etc to borrow if you needed to. Beach towels provided as well. Did not need the air conditioning which you need to choose ahead of time. Did some basic cleaning/laundry before we left to avoid an extra fee. Homeowner was responsive to our call when we had a question, although housekeeper did come by unexpectedly the day before we left to drop off a paper about moving out. Our young adult children liked this place better than the Hilton in Waikoloa or hotel in Hilo and the price was reasonable. Sleeps 4 comfortably.. our 5th used a folding mattress in the living area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravelwith5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Visited here on a trip with friends with children. This condo is on the second floor. It is on the end giving it a wrap around balcony. Parking was close. The unit is a little outdated but there is a lot of space for two couples to move around. The view is beautiful, you are feet from the ocean. Two bedrooms - although the second is separated from the living area by sliding screen doors. Two bathrooms, one with a tub, w/d in bathroom.
You are away from the shopping, restaurants and beaches but it's not a long drive (I feel you do need a rental car to stay here). There is a shopping center that is walk-able for groceries and a few restaurants and a farmers market. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadLK2trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Outstanding value. The Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club Resort is a gated community with tennis courts, pool, golf near by, and it is only a 5 minute walk to white sandy beaches with great snorkeling. Fun for all ages and abilities. We stayed in unit 6-204 for 7 nights and we loved every minute.

Room Tip: Units overlooking the ocean are beautiful, but very expensive. For the budget minded, a unit overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

When my friends and I decided we wanted to take a trip to Hawaii, we knew we wanted to stay at least part of the trip on the Big Island. I did some research and found the great reviews for these condos.

The condo surpassed all of my expectations. It was a great size for the 3 of us. Plenty of room to keep us from getting on each others nerves too soon into the vacation. It was fully stocked and ready for use. There's a shopping center just up the road which made it easy for us to pick up groceries for cooking and we got to enjoy some great breakfast views on the lanai.

The resort was well located and it was easy to get to our various activities for the day.

I would absolutely stay here again and would definitely recommend it to friends and family who wanted to stay on the Big Island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have rented this condo on several occasions and look forward to going back every year. The unit is well stocked, comfortable and provides the perfect location to watch the sun set. The unit is well maintained and we have always felt welcome. The location is ideal; snorkeling is a short walk away and shopping and restaurants are near by. The Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club Resort is a quiet gated complex with well groomed grounds. It is difficult to return home because we miss the sound of the ocean at night. We look forward to our next trip to the condo.

Room Tip: It is hard to decide whether breakfast or dinner is better on the lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steveboone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
5.1 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
4.4 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 2,534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#1 of 33 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club

Property: Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club
Address: 78-6800 Alii Dr Apt 25, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-4401
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: The Keauhou Kona Surf and Racquet Club Resort is a 4-star resort located in Keauhou on the sunny Kona Coast of the Big Island, Hawaii. The resort is adjacent to a sandy beach and was once the residence of four Hawaiian kings including the Great King Kamehameha. There are 197 privately-owned units at the resort with 77 townhouses and 120 condos with some beachfront and many oceanfront units along with ocean and fairway view condos. Townhouse #48 is a charming yet elegant condo situated in the Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club only steps from the beautiful Kona beaches. The condo is stocked with everything you need to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keauhou Kona Surf And Racquet Club Hotel Kailua-Kona
Keauhou Kona Surf & Racquet Club Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing