We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Family/Friends house for all”

Review of IO Way

Private Infinity Pool with 180 degree Coastline Ocean Views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Infinity Pool with 180 degree Coastline Ocean Views
Private Infinity Pool with 180 degree Coastline Ocean Views Private Infinity Pool with Soaking Deck and Ocean Views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Private Infinity Pool with 180 degree Coastline Ocean Views
Private Infinity Pool with 180 degree Coastline Ocean Views
Private Infinity Pool with Soaking Deck and Ocean Views
Private Pool with Waterfall Feature
Relax and Enjoy the View from the Hammock
Outdoor Dining and Grill Area with Flat Screen TV
Living Area, Dining Area and Indoor/Outdoor Living
Living Area, Dining Area and Shuffleboard Table
Living Area with Large Flat Screen TV
Breakfast Bar off Kitchen
Spacious Kitchen
Master Bedroom with King Bed and Views
Master Bedroom with King Bed
Master Bathroom, Double Sinks, Separate Tub and Shower
Master Bathroom with Soaking Tub and Flat Screen TV
Junior Suite 1 with King Bed, Flat Screen TV and Lanai
Ensuite to Junior Suite 1
Junior Suite 2 with King Bed, Flat Screen TV and Lanai
Ensuite to Junior Suite 2
Bedroom 4 with Twin Beds and Sitting Area
Half Bath
Outdoor Shower
Koi Ponds in Entry
Welcome to IO Way
Welcome to IO Way
Welcome to IO Way
Dining and Living Area
Junior Suite 1 with King Bed
Junior Suite 2 with King Bed
Enjoy the famous Hawaiian Sunsets all Year!
Private Pool with Separate Plunge Pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Patty T
Grass Valley, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Family/Friends house for all”
Reviewed December 16, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

This house is everything that 3 or 4 families could share!!!! The house is beautiful and it was everything that it said it was! Each room was large with king size beds and nice bathrooms! living area large as well! Would recommend this for large families or friends because the rooms are all large where you can spend time away from the group without feeling you are stuck in a small area. The view, pool, hot tub, the koi pond and hammock were top notch!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rooms
Liked least: the pots/pans
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahibrah
Honolulu
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“absolutely stunning”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A beautiful home, architecturally sympathetic to its location. The views are gorgeous and are enhanced by the siting and landscaping. The home is generously spacious in its communal and private spaces. There is lots of room to gather, but the bedrooms are also spacious and provide a quiet retreat as well. Everything about the house is designed for graceful, relaxed living. The one fault we noticed is that there are a couple of maintenance issues that need attention. The oven would not work nor did the ice makers! We notified the managers at once but by the end of the week, no arrangement for repair had occurred. Given the elegance of the residence and the cost of the rental, etc. we were surprised to encounter these problems.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, view, architecture
Liked least: kitchen appliances
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b1999
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Home, Great Views, Great Location, Cold Pool”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned from a week vacation in Kona and stay at this property on IO Way. Property is very clean and represented well in the photos. Location is good... about 10 minutes down to center of town and beaches. Only one thing prevented me from giving it five stars, and that is the pool/spa situation. Pool is cold... kids hardly wanted to swim in it... much colder than ocean temp. I guess this is normal for a lot of pools in Hawaii not to be heated. Pool is deep and faces west, so by the time sun hits it late afternoon you often have fog. Also, the spa is on a timer and only functions between 5-9pm. If a pool for the kids is a necessity, this is not the place for you. If pool for swimming is not important, you will love this place as the home and views are amazing!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpedo
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

My boyfriend and I enjoyed a vacation with the family at the Io Way home this spring. We were completely blown away by the beauty, comfort, cleanliness, and magnificence of this home. It was everything we imagined it to be and more! Every day we enjoyed shuffleboard, bbqs, mornings with coffee on the patio, luxurious showers, spacious kitchen, evenings playing in the pool, amazing ocean views and the list goes on and on.... It was hard to leave the home, but when we did we were minutes away from downtown Kona where we could enjoy restaurants, shopping, night life and activities. Even with all of the action in Kona, it was so very hard to leave this house each day. Days spent lounging around just simply enjoying the home were the best days spent on the vacation. The landscaping alone is spectacular. We would recommend this rental to anyone looking to enjoy Kona and we are already looking to book our next vacation here soon!

THANK YOU IO WAY! WE MISS YOU ALREADY!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Infinity pool, landscaping, 3 master bedrooms, amazing views
Liked least: We couldn't stay longer!!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex B
San Diego, California
1 review
“Amazing home in paradise”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 for a stay in October 2013

My husband and I were lucky enough to spend two amazing weeks here for our honeymoon. The house and view are unbelievable! A lot of the time we had trouble even leaving because we had everything we could ever need right there. The place is huge and every room and bathroom are so comfortable and luxurious. We felt like celebrities! The infinity pool is really cool. We went for a swim every morning and watched the sunset with a few home made Mai tais every night. It is very private and the neighborhood is quiet and beautiful. I can not recommend it enough and can't wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Infiniti pool and the sliding screen walls.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Incredible Home with an Amazing View”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had an amazing 2 week long stay at the Io Way home. This was our first trip to the big island and I think this had to be one of the nicest places we could have possibly stayed. The proximity of the house to stores and shops in Kailua-Kona was great, but you’re also just far enough up the hill away from town, that you really feel removed from the sounds of traffic and people, which we loved. There are lots of lush plants around the house and on your way up the small highway to the house so you immediately get the feeling of being in a tropical paradise.

As soon as you park inside the private gated entry, you step out and notice the beautiful custom Koi pond as you walk to the front door. Then once you step inside, the vaulted ceilings of the living room and the fully opening bay of windows out to the lanai take your breath away…seriously. It’s kind of an unreal space. The view out from the lanai across the infiniti edge swimming pool is incredible. We spent almost every evening of our 2 weeks sitting on the lanai with a drink enjoying the sunsets over the town of Kona below.

I don’t really have any complaints. The house is beautiful and the amenities were all perfect. All the bedrooms/bathrooms were clean, fully stocked, and thoughtfully decorated. It’s truly a luxurious home. The kitchen has an amazing gas range and a nice open plan with a pass through window out to the pool area and a view of the ocean.

As far as activities go, the house had chairs, boogie boards and a cooler outside that we took with us to the beach. There was a hutch inside the living room area stocked full of board/card games which was fun to have.

All in all we had a beautiful experience staying at this home and hope to return as soon as possible. This is definitely the way to stay on the island and I would recommend this home to anyone travelling to the big island. You won’t get a nicer home in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the home, the view and the connection of inside to outside.
Liked least: That we had to go home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing