We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly a Spacious Retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
King bed with comfy pillow-top mattress
Entrance to kitchen
Kitchen-fully equipped with appliances
Kitchen - Tropical fruit provided for breakfast
Seating area opens to lanai via 2 sliding glass doors
Sliding glass doors open to lanai from dining area
Dine al fresco at glass top table among the palms
Large bathroom includes slate shower and closet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Susan K
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly a Spacious Retreat”
Reviewed March 13, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This really is a spacious accommodation on the warm west side of Hawaii Island. The rooms are bright and airy with a large lanai for dining or relaxing. It is well equipped for as much or as little food preparation as you like. The location is great for exploring the island or spending time at the many beaches along the coast north of Kailua. Caryl and John are friendly helpful hosts who provide a well organized, comfortable base for a visit to Hawaii Island. We look forward to making a return visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randers57...
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value”
Reviewed March 13, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Caryl is a great host. I had a relaxing stay at her place. It was an exceptional value and is most convenient to the Kona Airport.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Deb B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed February 3, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

It is very easy to give Spacious Retreat a five star rating! Caryl was very helpful providing many emails outlining places to see, car rentals, beaches and restaurants. She is the best travel agent to help us to date! Even though we arrived very late at night and she wasn't feeling well she answered my phone call when we got lost and meet us and gave us a warm welcome! The suite is perfectly sized to be cozy and yet has all the amenities you need to be right at home. The area is quiet and cool which makes sleeping delightful. The bed is excellent and the kitchen has everything to make your meals if you choose to do so. Their garden/yard is full of cactus and plants and we even saw both little green geckos and brown ones as well. Both John and Caryl made us feel more like family then renters and always had a few moments to chat and make sure all our needs were meet. The washer came in handy as I was able to get some laundry done which kept us in clean clothes! The location is perfect as you are close to everything yet far enough away to avoid traffic noise! We travelled all over the island and loved coming home every night to our cozy home away from home. They also provide coolers and ice packs so we could pack our lunch and drinks and they were kept cool while we travelled. We didn't use many of the amenities they provided but they supply beach towels, beach chairs, snokeks and fins if you wish to use them. The place was super clean, well located and wonderful hosts. We would stay here again in a heart beat and they have set the bar very high for future places we will stay. I would highly recommend Spacious Retreat as the place to stay while on the Big Island!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Peaceful”
Reviewed March 25, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay here. Caryl, our host, is full of information and more than willing to help you discover local places and her favorites. Some of the places she recommended were our favorite parts of the trip. Take advantage of her knowledge of the area! The place was perfect for our stay. We had everything we needed in the kitchen (there's a little bit of everything). She often left us fresh fruit (bananas, papayas, sweet lime) which was so thoughtful! The place is safe and about 15 mins from town. The night time breeze is cool and the day isn't as humid as it is by the beach. We enjoyed our stay and enjoyed meeting Caryl!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2017
Aloha Melissa,
Thank you for your kind review. It was a delight to get to know you both. Please come back to see us soon.
Caryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“CARYL WAS A WONDERFUL HOST”
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Two days prior to our stay, we had to cancel our entire trip due to my husband's increased cardiac problems. His doctor strongly advised us to cancel. Caryl was very concerned and gave helpful advice. She was always easy to deal with and provided much info about Big Island.
Just wanting to make it clear that we did not cancel because we were unhappy with our choice. Hopefully a miracle will happen and we will get some money returned if it is re-rented.
When my husband's health improves, we will be reserving Caryl's place again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2017
Aloha Karen,
Thank you for the kind review. We indeed got another booking for all of the dates you reserved but had to cancel. I will be refunding the entire amount of the new booking to you as soon as I receive it from the other booking site. We look forward to seeing you when your husband's health improves and you are free to travel.

Mahalo,
Caryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis B
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful Property with Fantastic Hosts”
Reviewed February 17, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

When we booked a six night stay, we were impressed with the owner sending us numerous emails with suggestions of things to do on the Big Island. Well, that was just a hint of more to come. We've stayed in a lot of rentals and, except for the exceptionally service-oriented New Zealanders, have never experienced such accommodating hosts as Caryl and John. The apartment is lovely and has everything you could possibly need to enjoy yourself on the Kona coast. We would return in a heartbeat to this memorable location and its gracious owners. Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2017
Mahalo nui loa for the very kind review. We are missing you both already. Guests like you two are why we enjoy hosting so much. Please do come back soon.
Caryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing