We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Island Grand Circle Tour”

Wasabi Tours Hawaii
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Wasabi Tours Hawaii is a locally owned and operated company specialize in guided small group tours on the Big Island of Hawaii. Our circle island tour, twilight volcano tour, Waipio Valley waterfall tour, historic Kona tour, and customized private tours offer a personal, exciting, and unique experience that's unmatched by other group tours. We only select the most breathtaking and scenic attractions and travel routes to ensure our guests will cherish the experience for a lifetime.
Reviewed August 27, 2015

Did the Big Island Grand Circle Tour with the entire family my first day there. I like that the van was small, with only about 12 people. Joseph, our guide, was great, very knowledgeable, and a super sweet guy. He had that van stocked with cookies, granola bars, pineapple, juice, and bottled water. If you only have a few days on the island, do this tour. Even though we all agreed the Volcano Park stops were our favorite, it was worth seeing everything else. Whenever I asked locals what I should see they all mentioned something I'd seen on this Circle Tour.
Expect it to be 12 hours.

Date of experience: August 2015
2  Thank TravelGolightlySD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"waipio valley"
in 94 reviews
"day tour"
in 122 reviews
"twilight volcano tour"
in 144 reviews
"black sand beach"
in 103 reviews
"big island"
in 204 reviews
"bento box"
in 45 reviews
"volcano national park"
in 87 reviews
"great tour"
in 92 reviews
"private waterfall"
in 18 reviews
"bento lunch"
in 15 reviews
"steam vents"
in 49 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 61 reviews
"lava tube"
in 62 reviews
"teriyaki chicken"
in 17 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 52 reviews
"the entire island"
in 30 reviews
"small group tour"
in 17 reviews
Filter

1,343 - 1,347 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2015

This is a long tour. jonathan our driver was great. He knew a lot of history of the island and was very informative on every stop. He is the only reason I give it 3 stars. The trip is too long and you spend a lot of time in the van. The stops are ok, you see 2 waterfalls, a volcano stop and few scenic views. You could do it all in a rental car with a map and go at your own ace. 11 hours in a van is a long time - do not recommend kids as they will get bored or sleep

Date of experience: August 2015
2  Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasabitourshawaii, Owner at Wasabi Tours Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2015

Aloha Marc,

Thank you for the review about our Circle Island Tour. We always like feedback to let us know about guest experiences. We understand that some of our tours do take a long time to go around this Island. Circle Island Tour goes around the entire circumference of the "Big Island" with over 266 miles of coastline. We stop at 9 different attractions on this tour, including multiple stops within Volcanoes National Park. Most of driving is through scenic landscapes and lush rain forest. While it may be more beneficial to take a rental car around the island, you might miss out on all the interesting facts and cultural information shared by our certified guides. We do offer a variety of other tours that are shorter and offer less driving and more hiking. We strive for comfort and convenience for our guests along with taking the strain away from driving yourself around the island for 11+ hours. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed Jonathan as a guide and we look forward to having you back here in Hawaii again soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2015

Just like to say thanks to Marcus and Richard for a great day showing us around the island. Marcus had so much knowledge about the island he was able to talk and keep us entertained all day. A genuine tour that avoids the the tourist traps, Marcus went the extra mile to keep us supplied with drinks and pineapple. The trip included a "packed lunch" that was tasty and filling. Nothing was too much for a great team. Thanks Marcus and Richard for a memorable day. PS the only thing Marcus forgot to tell us why he believes in ghosts!!

Date of experience: August 2015
4  Thank Toonarmy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2015

The tour was great ! Joe, our tour guide, is outstanding ! he picked us up on time, shared this knowledge and the facts about Big Island! he made a special stop at the entrance of mauna kea at night as the meteor shower was happening, it was hard to see it but the view of stars was amazing! Now, for the booking of the tour, the wasabi agent was very polite when booking, but told us the wrong pick up time 8:50am, so my family waited for 2 hours for Joe( he was on time! 10:50am sharp!) , also, the wasabi office forgot to pack the vegetarian meal that I requested. Joe made us forget about the misfortune event because the tour was great. My family had a great time besides the 2 hour waiting.

Date of experience: August 2015
2  Thank 2girlsandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2015

had a great day with Dan as our driver/guide for the twilight volcano tour..picked up right on time at our condo and gave lots of information. its a long day but we saw alot! Lunch was very good (bento box) at the beach but dinner option really needs to be improved or make it a pay your own dinner. The choices at the Kilauea Military camp were pretty sad (hamburger, chicken fingers or baked potato) they had steak and other offerings but that wasnt included in our tour package price...better to make it pay on your own then those choices....overall a great tour and great tour guide!

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank LongIslandMommyPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasabi Tours Hawaii also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Wasabi Tours Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing