We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aileen was Awesome!”

Wasabi Tours Hawaii
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Wasabi Tours Hawaii is a locally owned and operated company specialize in guided small group tours on the Big Island of Hawaii. Our circle island tour, twilight volcano tour, Waipio Valley waterfall tour, historic Kona tour, and customized private tours offer a personal, exciting, and unique experience that's unmatched by other group tours. We only select the most breathtaking and scenic attractions and travel routes to ensure our guests will cherish the experience for a lifetime.
Reviewed June 28, 2015

We only had one day on the Big Island, I booked the Circle Tour through Viator and the tour was everything they advertised! Our guide Aileen was knowledgeable, accommodating, and gracious. We did not feel hurried at any of the attractions, lunch was fabulous, the van was comfortable, and we saw all of the key points on the island. Aileen even dropped us off at the airport so we wouldn't have to catch a shuttle from the hotel area. We will most definitely book with Wasabi Tours and Viator in future travels! Mahalo!

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank Debi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"waipio valley"
in 94 reviews
"day tour"
in 122 reviews
"twilight volcano tour"
in 144 reviews
"black sand beach"
in 103 reviews
"big island"
in 204 reviews
"bento box"
in 45 reviews
"volcano national park"
in 87 reviews
"great tour"
in 92 reviews
"private waterfall"
in 18 reviews
"bento lunch"
in 15 reviews
"steam vents"
in 49 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 61 reviews
"lava tube"
in 62 reviews
"teriyaki chicken"
in 17 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 52 reviews
"the entire island"
in 30 reviews
"small group tour"
in 17 reviews
Filter

1,381 - 1,385 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2015

We booked this tour through the Viator website. This is an excellent tour, and covers almost the the whole Big Island. It was well organized and spent just enough time in each spot. I especially loved the small group (no more than 12 guests) atmosphere as you didn't waste time getting on and off the tour van and everyone was mindful of being on time at each stop. Our driver/tour guide, Aileen was very friendly and accommodating and was quite knowledgeable about the Big Island. The lunch provided was lovely as well. I would highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank njsc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2015 via mobile

We took the Circle Island Tour with Nick. He was amazing! He knew every plant, rock, tree, etc...along the way. He actually has studied the volcanos (Masters Degree). He welcomed all questions regarding the sites we saw, the culture of the island and had many folk lore/ legend stories. Never a dull momenthe which was really a feat since the tour was a long day especially with children. If you are booking a tour ask for Nick and bring a jacket. The volcano area is cool even during the day with the sun shining.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank Kkrnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2015

Wow was all I can say about our tour and our fantastic guid/tour driver dan. He made it for us stopping for those little extras. He picked us up on time, collected all other passengers, explained every step, dealt with a child being sick, drove safely, got us as close as possible to each stop, gave us heaps of information about each stop on the tour. We got to see 8 turtles which was a high.ight for all. Good lunch...bento box for all, nibbles and soda or water when we wanted it. There was never a rush at any stop...h
Dan was polite, helpful, informative and even gave,lots of options for other things we could do on the island.
Both my husband and I were impressed with this young man and his knowledge even though he had only been in Hawaii for a little over three years. Well done Dan...you were excellent. Thank you!!!!

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2015

So... as far as seeing a ton of sights and getting a good feel for the Big Island is concerned, I highly recommend the Circle Island Tour by Wasabi Tours. We were picked up promptly at our hotel for the tour and the transportation (van) was comfortable and roomy. Basically, the tour had all the makings of a wonderful, memorable day, but a few things were a miss for me.

First off, our tour guide... can't remember his name... was not a native to the island, and had moved to Hawaii a few years ago. Though he was knowledgeable overall, I can't help but feel we would have learned more from someone who grew up here. Secondly, something that is not the fault of the tour company, but still annoying, was another person that was on our tour with us. This person just dominated the conversation, asking TONS of questions that ranged from valid to completely obnoxious and pointless. Even after the driver said we would have some quiet time to rest and enjoy the view, this person pestered him and everyone else with question after question. He really took something away from the rest of us, which was not ideal for a full day tour. Lastly, the lunch that was served was not good. It was in the car the whole day, and just not appetizing... cold chicken teriyaki and fish. I was super disappointed in the meal/location for the meal. I think for a tour of this caliber with tons of food options around the island, this could definitely been better.

The positives of the tour were all the amazing sites we saw. The highlights for me were the black sand beach, the Kona Coffee store, and the volcano national park. We even saw an amazing sunset on our drive back to the hotel.

All in all, the tour was pretty good. I liked that we saw a ton of places we wouldn't have normally seen on our own. I probably would do it again, but I would cross my fingers for different people to share this full day tour with...

Date of experience: May 2015
3  Thank travelfoodie1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasabitourshawaii, Manager at Wasabi Tours Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2015

Aloha, We here at Wasabi Tours want to thank you for coming on our Circle Island Tour to experience the sights and history of the Big Island. We are sorry to hear that a single individual guest on your tour was being obnoxious, though it sounds like you had an enjoyable time and had wonderful things to see. Our lunches are made fresh every morning before our tours and are kept in an insulated heating bag until lunch time. We try to keep them as hot as possible for the few hours that the tour is going on before the destination for lunch. We feel that a freshly cooked meal is a better choice than a cold sandwich or a lengthy sit down lunch at a restaurant. You didnt mention where you had lunch at, we usually stop at Akastuka Orchid Farms in Volcano which allows the guests to explore the rare and beautiful flora while we prepare the lunch. We are sad to hear this was not an ideal location for you but we appreciate the feedback and will make sure to improve our options in the future. We hope you come back to Big Island in the future and would love to show you more exciting places, and possibly let you experience a different guides knowledge and overall perspective of the many things this amazingly Big Island has to offer.
Aloha and A Hui Hou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasabi Tours Hawaii also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Wasabi Tours Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing