We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not clean and well maintained”
Review of Subway

Subway
Ranked #178 of 287 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not clean and well maintained”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Saw dead cockroach and spiders on floor in this industrail location Subway close to Home Depot. Food was standard however facility is not maintained to franchise standard at all

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikeusaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    18
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
concord,nc,usa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

When we walked in the door, we felt like we were bothering the employee. Yes it was hot in there, yes it's not a great job, that's not our fault. Get another job. I don't expect a lot in a fast food place, just a decent meal, and a bit of courtesy. The sand which was fine. The condescending attitude was not. The owner should do something, train better, fire, or close down. You are in the people business, and customers, even vacationers will not come back. We won't.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Grab the sandwiches and off you go.”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We used subways all over the islands. They open early now with breakfast and so you can grab fresh sandwiches and OK we also got cookies most days and placed them with drinks in a small ice chest and we were ready for wherever the day might take us!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bowiememe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, WA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stopped there a number of times. Friendly staff. On last day we got 12 inches sandwiches to eat half for lunch, to avoid poor food choices at airport restaurant and the other half of plane (Alaska) since we did not care for their rice bowls. That plan worked out fine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rkh29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grants pass
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The attitude of the employees is terrible.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The food was fine. Subway likes to skimp and you have to buy extra, bu that was expected. What was not expected is the "we're slaves, we really don't want to be here" attitude ending just short of a snarl. If i lived there i wouldn't mind a little extra money and a chance to brighten someones day with a smile.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jody p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Subway also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Subway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing