We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy Fast, delicious.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ba-Le Kona Sandwich & Vietnamese Food

Ba-Le Kona Sandwich & Vietnamese Food
Ranked #98 of 283 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Easy Fast, delicious.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Tasty food at a great price. The french baguettes are made there.

The place is quite busy but our food was ready in just a few minutes. We liked the sandwiches especially the lamongrass chicken.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzzieAdamDanbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    23
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Service sucks”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

So we live here and love Vietnamese food. Only Vietnamese place in town. The food is okay except for the spring rolls are always made out of iceberg lettuce which is pretty gross. The service sucks. Yeah we are white and don't look like we live here but you don't have to be short and rude. Those girls (the once with caked make up and the other night girl) glared at us even though I left a good tip. I've worked in the food industry serving for a few years and there is absolutely no reason to be treated like this. Especially as regulars. You should find cashiers that are kind of nice.

Helpful?
Thank MonicaLane3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy veggie food too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Tasty tofu dishes. Server made sure what we got was veggie. In. Shopping center so not overly touristy. Got the rec from our B&B

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Surprising Gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Ok, so the looks of it might scare some away, but this very low key establishment has tasty food at a great price. The french baguettes they use for their sandwiches are scrumptious. The place is quite busy - especially, it seems, with the locals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SugarScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
613 reviews
471 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Food Ok Cleanliness an Issue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We needed a quick lunch in Kona pre a flight to Oahu and found it in this shopping center restaurant recommended by a guide book. The signature lemon grass chicken sandwich prepared spicy or not was very good on a fresh baked roll and the shrimp rolls were fresh and crisp. The tables were sticky and the restroom had a gas station level of cleanliness. We will not go back but the place was full of local residents.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ba-Le Kona Sandwich & Vietnamese Food also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Keaau, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ba-Le Kona Sandwich & Vietnamese Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing