We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local stop on budget”
Review of Harbor House

Harbor House
Ranked #56 of 290 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great local stop on budget”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Group of 7. Large beers for great price. Fish platters were very tasty. View of the marina added to the local feel. Open air seating.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PTycz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    151
    56
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A Schooner of Beer and Fresh Ocean Air Without Breaking the Bank”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Directly on the marina, this open air restaurant is the perfect place to grab an icy beer and some good old bar food without paying the usual astronomical Hawaiian prices. You know it's good and cheap when there's more locals than tourists. Just do yourself a favour and don't look like a tourist by ordering a Mai tai.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LostinHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This restaurant is "just right"”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were directed to this restaurant and we had to hunt for it but it was truly worthwhile.We sat on the exterior facing the boats in the marina. The view and breeze were appreciated. Little bright coloured birds monitor the floor looking for crumbs. The meals were huge and we could in the future share one. My husband loved the schooner of icecold beer. Good prices. Looking forward to returning in January.Relaxed and comfortable.Excellent service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oliverBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Worth a visit...”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were given the place as a suggestion from our hotel concierge. We were not disappointed. It is off the beaten path. I thought the food and beer was a great value compared to other venues we had eaten at on the island. Excellent outdoor seating, view of the marina and water. Nice big cold schooners of beer. We loved the fried oysters. Everyone in our party enjoyed their meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Active Harbor view, locals' hangout, good value”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Located at Honokau harbor, this open air eatery, serves pub food at decent prices with goblets of beer starting at $300.00 each. All locals at this place. Get away from the tourists. Earthy-looking ladies provide great service and nice eye-candy. Good place to enjoy boats, birds, sports TV and decent cafe' fare. Most meals served with crispy, tasty french fries that fatten the belly and keeps the wallet full. Prices are cheap and the value is very good. Hamburgers, ($7.50) served on fresh buns, medium rare and good for the palette. Fish and Chips, ($11.95), lightly breaded, thin crust with no remnant of oil. Served moist and substantial. All in all, a fun place on the water, locals abound and inexpensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbor House also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing