We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not too bad” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbor House

Harbor House
Ranked #59 of 283 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“not too bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

we had lunch here twice during our stay in kona . both times it was early , right after they opened at 11:00 , and still not crowded . we have been here on previous trips at busy times and it does get packed and hectic . both times this trip the food was good and the servers efficient and friendly . luckily there were no problems so we didn't have to deal with the dragon lady

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    140
    53
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Nice spot to just hang and have a beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We ate here once, snacked once and drank a couple of times. Beer (on tap) was only $3 (pretty average for most places on the big island (unless you're on the main drag in Kona then a basic Bud Lite on tap will be $4.50 and a Longboard will run you $6.50-$7 but will be $4.50 anywhere else!).

The poke here was pretty good too. Everything else was average. Service good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunsequitur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice place but ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The setting was nice . We stopped for a drink before my daughters diving trip and might well have gone back for a meal, as this place was recommended by locals , but the service was poor and they had no coffee! They had run out!!!!! This is kona and I have never ever come across anywhere that has run out of coffee , it really put me off, or maybe they just couldn't be bothered to put on another brew , either way I couldn't understand it.
The beer people were drinking looked refreshing . What a shame.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sallygh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I had a great luch today at the Harbor House. We met some neighbors there and really enjoyed ourselves. The BBQ Pork Sandwich was outstanding! Service was great and as friendly as can be as usual. Much better place for lunch than some of the other local places. A bit less expensive, better views and you are not rushed out of the place. You can sit and visit without getting moved along. Much, much better than Bite Me, which is overpriced. If you are a white tablecloth person you won't like it here. If you are like the rest of us you will love it and the view of the Marina is fabulous.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank konabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
130 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice Place for Lunch and Beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Harbor House is a nice open air restaurant in the Honokohau Harbor outside of Kona. It's cool and refreshing and the schooners of beer are wonderful.It gets busy around lunchtime and into the afternoon. It closes early so don't plan on a late dinner. Twas great to relax there after a day of sightseeing as well as the day we left for home. The food was well prepared and the price was right. Don't feed the birds, they get crabby. I know better but could not resist.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cropsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbor House also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing