We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for breakfast”
Review of Island Lava Java

Island Lava Java
Reserve with OpenTable
Island Lava Java is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 290 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Palani
Transit: Public bus stop 300 yards away.
Description: Great Kona Restaurant specializing in fresh, local, organic and sustainable food with 100% Kona Coffee and our own Bakery on site. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner & Sunday brunch, we are committed to using the highest quality locally produced ingredients. We proudly feature grass fed Big Island Beef, Big Island organic goat cheese and locally grown organic produce, freshly baked house made breads, desserts & goodies. Island Lava Java, Bistro Grill is Kona's #1 Coffee House and Restaurant. We were voted to have the "Best Breakfast in Kona" by the readers of the West Hawaii Today. Island Lava Java Bistro & Grill's Island fare is inspired by everyday island cooking. You'll feel relaxed while savoring a great meal in our casual and comfortable outside, Oceanside lanai. Experience our inventive cuisine, attentive service, and a friendly atmosphere; come see what makes us one of the most popular restaurants and coffee houses in town. We look forward to meeting you!
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for breakfast”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We originally headed to Lava Java to find a coffee shop, but it's really more of a restaurant - a host will seat you, and people don't generally hang around to read or idly work. It's usually pretty busy so the vibe is kind of in-and-out (if you're looking for a real 'coffee shop' to hang out at, try Daylight Mind just a block away, which has unbeatable deck seating). The breakfast was very good though, so we came back a few times for that. Coffee was just ok, but I have high standards.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,354
    816
    255
    74
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Creve Coeur, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding dinner”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This place was mostly billed as a breakfast location but we wanted something close by to our condo with a view of the beach and good food, so I made a reservation on their website via Open Table while I was doing research before leaving on our trip. First they gave us these little crostinis with jalapeño cream cheese drizzled with mint oil. I know you're saying "What?" but seriously, it was amazing. My husband had the ahi and it was woefully overcooked, but our server whisked it away and brought it back still flopping on the plate, which is exactly how he likes it. I don't recall exactly what my daughter and I had, but we loved it. There is a kids menu as I recall, but my kid has adult tastes in food (ate all of her jalapeño crostini and tried to steal mine) so I cannot speak to the kid menu. Excellent service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bucklebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
677 reviews
393 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Nice relaxed lunch”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The place is not too large but comfortable. They have a tempting case with desserts and pastries that is hard to resist. Some people come and get food to take out but there is seating for meals, some of it outside. They offer soup, salads and sandwiches at lunch and the portions are large. You can get a half sandwich if you like and if your appetite is not large, would be sufficient. There is outside seating overlooking the ocean as well as limited indoor seating. The service is casual and many people had to go up to the register to ask for their bill including us. The food came out in a reasonable time but not much attention after that. The pizza looked tempting and they offer a child's menu. Overall, good lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyTraveling64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stopped here for breakfast. It was very good. The service was so so but the food was very good. Everyone should try it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clement309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome. Simply awesome😊”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Our server, Pam, was so knowledgeable and pleasant, and the food was simply delicious! They are known for their pizza, and ours was awesome! We also had a great tuna salad! And the sunset was stunning!

Helpful?
Thank Goose765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Lava Java also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Island Lava Java? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing