We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING”
Review of Island Lava Java

Island Lava Java
Reserve with OpenTable
Island Lava Java is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 288 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Palani
Transit: Public bus stop 300 yards away.
Description: Great Kona Restaurant specializing in fresh, local, organic and sustainable food with 100% Kona Coffee and our own Bakery on site. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner & Sunday brunch, we are committed to using the highest quality locally produced ingredients. We proudly feature grass fed Big Island Beef, Big Island organic goat cheese and locally grown organic produce, freshly baked house made breads, desserts & goodies. Island Lava Java, Bistro Grill is Kona's #1 Coffee House and Restaurant. We were voted to have the "Best Breakfast in Kona" by the readers of the West Hawaii Today. Island Lava Java Bistro & Grill's Island fare is inspired by everyday island cooking. You'll feel relaxed while savoring a great meal in our casual and comfortable outside, Oceanside lanai. Experience our inventive cuisine, attentive service, and a friendly atmosphere; come see what makes us one of the most popular restaurants and coffee houses in town. We look forward to meeting you!
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We are here twice on our trip, we first enjoyed a sunset dinner...while they were not able to provide wine, we were encouraged to bring our own and they provided an ice bucket, glasses and bottle opener....loved sitting outside on a little table and watching the sun go down over the ocean. We were even lucky enough to see a few humpback whales playing. The food was delicious! We also came back for breakfast and the food again did not disappoint. The Cinnamon roll was amazing. Can't go wrong here. The food and service are top notch.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tracyt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,323
    799
    247
    74
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunset Dinner”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

If you are fortunate to get a seat near the Ocean, you will have a spectacular view of the Sunset.

The food at Lava Java is very good, and the service is very casual. They do not serve Beer or Wine, so you will have to bring your own, and they will be happy to supply you with glasses.

On this occasion I had the Caesar Salad with Chicken and my had the Hawaiian Pizza. Both were very good and the Crust of the Pizza was very tasty.

A must stop.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank VCatania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great outdoor dinner”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I took my three kids and parents here for dinner one night and it was great. The sunset was wonderful and they take reservations which makes a huge difference. They don't serve any alcohol but quickly informed us that I could walk up the street and buy a bottle of wine and they would provide the opener and glasses. No corking fee. The fish was fresh and my kids dinners was perfect. Probably, however, the best part was the sunset that we watched dip into the Pacific. We live in Boston, so we don't get incredible sunsets like that. Would totally recommend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank berkeleyCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“just ok”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Least favorite place we ate on the Big Island, and we ate at a lot of places! Went there about 8:15 on a Saturday morning. There was no wait. Our waitress was pretty cranky and not very friendly. My omelette was ok, the potatos and portugese sausage was yummy! My daughters pancakes were delicious. But the real kicker....$1.25 for a refill on coffee?!?! Come on

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ldb9446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lava Java”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had breakfast at this place a couple of times while we visited Kona. The food is very good, the service is very pleasant and the view is marvellous. In the morning you may have to line up but the line moves fast and the food is delivered very quickly after you order.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandwichhole6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Lava Java also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Island Lava Java? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing