We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy with Entertainment”
Review of Island Lava Java

Island Lava Java
Reserve with OpenTable
Island Lava Java is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 288 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Palani
Transit: Public bus stop 300 yards away.
Description: Great Kona Restaurant specializing in fresh, local, organic and sustainable food with 100% Kona Coffee and our own Bakery on site. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner & Sunday brunch, we are committed to using the highest quality locally produced ingredients. We proudly feature grass fed Big Island Beef, Big Island organic goat cheese and locally grown organic produce, freshly baked house made breads, desserts & goodies. Island Lava Java, Bistro Grill is Kona's #1 Coffee House and Restaurant. We were voted to have the "Best Breakfast in Kona" by the readers of the West Hawaii Today. Island Lava Java Bistro & Grill's Island fare is inspired by everyday island cooking. You'll feel relaxed while savoring a great meal in our casual and comfortable outside, Oceanside lanai. Experience our inventive cuisine, attentive service, and a friendly atmosphere; come see what makes us one of the most popular restaurants and coffee houses in town. We look forward to meeting you!
Allyn, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
141 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Yummy with Entertainment”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Good food. We had the breakfast croissant. Regular breakfast are good sized. Refills on coffee have a charge. I ordered a medium coffee, which was perfect at about a 2 cup size. We had great entertainment with a Jason Mraz style. Weather was perfect. Watching people and waves breaking on the black lava cost was fabulous. Continued our morning with a walk to the shops and browsing. Most shops open at 10AM.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,323
    799
    247
    74
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We always eat here for breakfast with excellent views, service and food. Now there is table service it make this place for breakfast even easier to chill and enjoy the ocean watching for dauphins slashing in the bay. The Big Island special is recommended for those who are hungry. Kona coffee is served along with fresh orange juice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CJBRoute66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nail on the head...”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I both agree that this was one of the best meals we had on the island. I have to say it was my favorite. The fish was cooked to perfection, and we ended up splitting our food because everything was soooo good. The view is incredible, ambiance is terrific and the entertainment was delightful. The entire experience was lovely.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank theweepingatlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“popular but not the best”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

the banana mac nut waffles weren't that great. i make better waffles at home. we only came here because i read about it from this site and even on chowhound.com. i don't know if there are better alternatives in the area at the same price range as we didn't get to try another breakfast place. but if i were to pick the best breakfast place on the whole island, that would be Ken's House of Pancakes in Hilo.
if you're a tourist and sign up for a discount coupon on their website, they'll email you one ($5 off on $20 or more).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunflowii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place to watch people”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We read so much about Lava Java we just had to give it a try. We were not disappointed. The staff was very friendly and the food was great. I gave the fish tacos a try and they were delicious! There was some live music and it was fun watching people walk by. This is a great place to relax, eat some great food (that isn't horribly expensive) and have a nice evening,

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stjohnlover44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Lava Java also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Island Lava Java? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing