We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bargain Time!”

Wasabi's Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #121 of 285 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
seattle
Level Contributor
114 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Bargain Time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

For the summer Wasabi's has reduced prices on many of their items. We visited there again two nits ago and had great service, fast delivery of our order, and deal- time prices. They were very busy, the place was hopping, but still excellent sushi, service and friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susafoxSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    33
    26
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had dinner here when we first arrived. Fish was so-so. We did enjoy fresh horseradish, but that's an upcharge of $2.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CocoPalmDesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Intimate, very fresh fish, attentive service. It's off the main road so it's quiet. A little hard to find, but worth seeking out.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DSmith1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Consistently GOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have been to Kona-Kailua for a number of years. Our last visit was in 2010. Back then we came to this place twice. It is tucked away from the hussle bustle and a nice reprieve in a simple yet casually elegant Japanese restaurant. We have always had GREAT service and GOOD food. The prices seem reasonable too.

This year we wanted to maybe try a different place but low and behold it was NOT open when we wanted to eat, around 4:00pm..after the beach and before going back to the time share. Yes, we were the only ones there at that time but then I got my favorite spot. The menu has changed some. They now have a live grill service for dinner but we opted for what we normally get, chicken terriyaki and tempura. This time we tried the crab california rolls as well and it had real crab, not the fake stuff. Yum, yum. The service was great, the food yummy and the ambiance, home-y. Others started to come too after 5:00pm. It is suggested to do reservations if you want the live cooking experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat_919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC, UT
Level Contributor
204 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had dinner around 8 pm on a Monday night and while it was not busy, there were a few other couples and a couple of people at the bar. There was only one server and she seemed to be having trouble keeping up. We waited for a table to be cleaned for us and then waited some more for menus and then waited even longer for water. She was polite but certainly not friendly. We started with a couple of beef and fish skewers which were delicious. The sushi rolls were large and fresh. They were good but nothing special. We decided to skip dessert since we'd had to wait so long for everything else. Overall it was good food but the service left something to be desired. Maybe it was just a bad night.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasabi's Japanese Cuisine also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Wasabi's Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing