We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great neo-bistro food they would do well in the middle of Paris” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Bourgogne French Restaurant

La Bourgogne French Restaurant
Ranked #69 of 283 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Price range: $55 - $55
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Orleans
Level Contributor
255 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“great neo-bistro food they would do well in the middle of Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

had rabbit and fish stew special with wild mushroom soup

pot de creme super

Actually had to add a little salt to most dishes but the food is worth going out of your way for super service husband and wife gourmands special place

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bobtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    31
    11
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“When you walk in, you are transported in time and space. Funky dark paneling, and quirky art fills this tiny space.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

When you walk in, you are transported in time and space. Funky dark paneling, and quirky art fills this tiny space. The authentic french cuisine is marvelous. The two owners who cooked and served were wonderful hosts. We brought our two kids and they catered to them as well. Really special place, I love that it seats 35 max occupancy. Spendy dishes ($35-46) but worth it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Surprisingly French food in Hawaii”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We enjoyed an Old World meal at the French restaurant La Bourgogne, with wild mushroom soup, lobster bisque, perfectly cooked rack of lamb, and more. The ambiance is a bit old style, and out of place in Kona, but it does feels like a country inn in France. The owners were very friendly, especially the husband/chef in his white coat. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank izumishikibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
135 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A treat two nights in a row!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Agreed that you can't expect Hawaiian food, just expect traditional French preparations. Great attention to detail, wonderful melange of flavors, exquisitely-crafted menu. Our best food experience on the island.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank grabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

My wife and I have dined at La Bourgogne restaurant almost exclusively on May 5th for the last 23 years. this date happens to be our anniversary and this year marks our 39th. We knew it was destiny when we learned a few years back that the owners also celebrate their wedding anniversary on this date. The intimate, white tablecloth dining atmosphere is superb and the service and menu incredible! Ron takes his nightly menu preparations to a level which is unsurpassed in any restaurant in Kona and the meals are incredibly flavorful, tantalizing and beautifully served. Great flavors, great wine selection and a special place to dine. We will be there soon for another wonderful dining experience. Dennis & Claudia Cintas

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tunaroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bourgogne French Restaurant also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to La Bourgogne French Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing