We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grill side has good service and great setting.”

Kona Inn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Kona Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 288 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Grill side has good service and great setting.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I've eaten at the Kona Inn many many times. There are 2 venues. The Grill on the north and the full service restaurant on the south side.
This review is for the Grill side.
The service was great and the setting awesome. I had the french dip and it was just ok. I tried my son's fish and chip it was good. My father had the coconut shrimp and he loved it. My mother had a cobb salad and she loved that.
It's fully priced but you're seated in a really beautiful location that's great for families w children as it's got a big sea side lawn where kids can play while parents relax, watch and enjoy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RKL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    391
    133
    54
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stay with the fish meals”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have been going to the Kona Inn during visits over the last ten years. Last night we went with a party of eight including two children. Most of us had the calamari sandwich which continues to be our favorite.
Three of our party including the children had non fish items on the menu. Don't waste your money and stick with the fish on the menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raj41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place for drinks”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a throw back destination with a fantastic harbor view. Stop in for a few drinks while you tour the town. We didn't eat here so I can't speak to the food, but it felt like we were sitting in something out of Mad Men.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SMPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“In search of the perfect Mai Tai”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

While we can't comment on the food because our destination was the bar, we found the experience quite refreshing. If you're looking for some real Hawaiian ambience with the Pacific just steps away, this should fill the bill. After a little trinketeering - as we call it -in the nearby shops, we were told the Mai Tais here were pretty good. While not the best we've had (those are to be found at Don the Beachcomber in Huntington Beach, CA) these do pack a punch. Heavy on the alcohol, so about halfway through, we asked for additional mix. It was like getting a double. A restful, nice place to stop off in Kona.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place with a great view!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have had lunch and dinner here many times and it is ALWAYS great food and great service. We had lunch there on July 4 before the parade and fireworks. If you are shopping in Kona, it's a great place to stop and have a cocktail, a snack, or a great meal and we seldom have to wait for a table. It's a must stop place if you are visiting Kona!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IslandGirl415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Inn Restaurant also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing