We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mai Tai!!!! Oh Boy!!”

Kona Inn Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 288 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Hesperia, Ca
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mai Tai!!!! Oh Boy!!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Dinner was great! Try one of their signature mai tai's...oh boy...they have 3 kinds of rum in them. It's right on the ocean and it is open air. The wait staff was wonderful and very acommodating. We even saw some outrigger boats in the bay while eating dinner. The shop at the Kona Inn were right outside the restaurant so it was a great way to walk off your meal. Try the macadamia nut pie...oh it's to die for!!! Yummy!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveler044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    389
    132
    54
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner with a sunset!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Perfect end to a perfect day! Food was great, view was phenomenal! The sun set right as we got our drinks. . . VERY ROMANTIC!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stacie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Slightly above average”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Two couples and four kids. We had Ono, Mahi-Mahi, Ahi and some other kids dishes. We enjoyed the great oceanfront location of this place - and it is centrally located in Kona. The place is spacious and we appreciated this given that we were there with 2 strollers and 4 kids in total.

The food was slightly above average with mixed reviews. I didn't enjoy my Ahi as much, but others seemed more happy than we were (4/5 in total). There is a good selection of meals for kids and the service was very good and accommodating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xaxun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Experience.”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife discovered this restaurant while browsing through the shops nearby. We made a reservation for that night. We were seated immediately and our waiter came right over. From that point on, we were never unattended. The waiter came and went delivering drinks and unbelievable food, the whole time never disturbing us. The fish dishes we had were fresh and cooked to perfection. The decor and ambiance were fitting for Hawaii and with the number of antique ceiling fans there, the room was quite comfortable. This was by far the best restaurant I had been to in the seven days we were in Kailua-Kona. We'll stay there next visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A surprise”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stopped in Kona Inn for lunch and were pleasantly surprised. The restaurant is in the middle of a touristy market place. We were hesitant to stay, but once we walked in and saw the view and the setting, we were happy to have lunch. The food is good, nothing to brag about but acceptable. It's the setting and the feel of the place that sets it apart. You may be in the middle of tourist world, but in the Kona Inn...you are back in old Hawaii. It is worth visiting and having a drink and some pupu's.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kona Inn Restaurant also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Kona Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing