We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky location, great food!”

Orchid Thai Cuisine
Ranked #82 of 288 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Grover Beach, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Funky location, great food!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Wanted to grab something to go after a long day snorkeling, and this was on our way home from Kona Brewing. In a tiny strip mall in an industrial are. The food rocks! Even my husband, who isn't a huge Thai fan, enjoyed it, so that is a plus. The service, even though we were taking out, was very good and our food arrived promptly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raidercat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    35
    18
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not very gastronomically impressive”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We did a quick drop in one evening to try this Thai restaurant out. It was only another table of people in the restaurant, as we arrived 30 minutes before closing. The restaurant was nicely furnished. We were able to order two dishes and a bowl of rice.
The flavour and spicyness was alright. Comparing this to other Thai restaurants I would rate this 3 stars as nothing was gastronomically impressive.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Zarako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waddell, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Thai food ever!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This place is the best! We tried Orchid Thai Cuisine based on a recommendation from a local, and we sure are glad we did. It was so good, we went back twice during our short trip to Hawaii.

We try Thai Tom Yum soup everywhere we go, and I've never had it this good before. Everything else we tried on the menu was just as good. The place doesn't look like much from the outside, but if you are looking for great food, go inside and enjoy. The staff is very friendly, the service is excellent and above all the food is just wonderful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranger_Rick75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,Il
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So-so”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We went to this restaurant on the recommendation of a local who loved their food. I ordered the peanut chicken appetizer and sticky rice which was only fair. The other person ordered the chicken Pad Thai and said it was fair as well. Service was a bit slow which was okay since we werent in a hurry but I wouldnt really recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VIwannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Wish I could give more stars”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I wanted to like this place, but didn't really. It's in an odd location - a small strip mall next to a bar. It appears to be family run - very young children were waiting on tables. The owner (?)/chef also waits on tables and seems nice. Ultimately though, i thought the food was only average. The crab cakes didn't taste fresh and curries we had were plain. The interior clearly needs some work, but I won't rate them down for that. The prices are reasonable, but I think there are better Thai places nearby.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Russianoligarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchid Thai Cuisine also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Orchid Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing